Day 17 - ending at Lansing, Iowa - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2010

Day 17 - ending at Lansing, Iowa

rode on Fayette County Recreational Trail

Day 17 - Clermont, IA to Lansing, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was expecting sun, but it was cloudy at 6:10am when I got up. It brightened up later.

a beautiful morning after the haze lifted
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I was getting around, a pick-up truck pulled up. The driver, it turned out, had heard of The Straight Story. In fact, in the movie it was her grandfather's building that was burnt down at the bottom of the hill when the tractor lost its brakes! She invited me to eat breakfast at the Quarry Lodge (the camp's main building), saying she'd cook my breakfast.

I was packed up and at the Quarry Lodge at 9:18am.

Quarry Lodge at Skip-A-Way Resort - Clermont, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was their only customer at that time, and enjoyed the 'Two Tee' breakfast (2 pancakes, 2 eggs, and 2 bacon) along with coffee and orange juice.

inside the Quarry Lodge
Heart 0 Comment 0
breakfast!
Heart 0 Comment 0

This breakfast was just what I needed, remembering a line from the movie: "Well, you know, Alvin, there's a lot of hills bigger than Clermont's between here and Zion." - Danny Riordan, The Straight Story.

I talked with the cashier as I was leaving about the location of the John Deere tractor that I'd read was in Clermont. She had lots of stories about the filming of the movie in Clermont, since she lived in the town back then. The film crew had great praise for the hospitality they'd found in Clermont. (I do, too.)

I left full at 10:05am to find the tractor. Before crossing the river I stopped to take some pictures.

'Brick City' - Clermont, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
'Things to See & Do' - Clermont, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
cautions old and newer
Heart 0 Comment 0
dam on Turkey River - Clermont, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

After crossing the river, I walked my bike through downtown. There was a John Deere dealer in town. This building wasn't shown it the movie, but the John Deere dealership mechanics at Clermont were portrayed in the movie.

downtown - Clermont, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just like the cashier at the Quarry Lodge said, I found the tractor building without difficulty.

building holding lawn tractors used in the movie The Straight Story
Heart 0 Comment 0

This tractor was the one used in the movie, not the one the real Alvin Straight used.

John Deere lawn tractor
Heart 0 Comment 0
tractor and pull-trailer - Clermont, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

They also had the Rehds mower that was featured early in the movie, but sunlight glare from the window was such that I couldn't get a picture of that.

With another location checked off my list of 'to see' places, I continued north to the start of the Fayette County Recreational Trail.

Fayette County Recreational Trail trailhead at northwest end of Thompson Street - Clermont, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was pleasantly surprised that this trail was flat, or at least it seemed to be. In such a hilly area, I'd expected to be climbing.

Fayette County Recreational Trail - Clermont, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I took a break on a bench at the trail's end at 11:04am. After that, I was climbing. It was a beautiful day with lots of scenery.

On gravel road downhills like these I'd say to myself, "Be careful!"

107th Avenue heading north (and down) - Winneshiek County
Heart 1 Comment 0
looking SSE across Highland Drive from Blueberry Road - Winneshiek County on right, Allamakee County on left
Heart 0 Comment 0
Northeast Iowa scenery
Heart 1 Comment 0

Passed this building, but couldn't figure out if it had been a church or a school.

building at northwest corner of Pole Line Road and Countryside Drive - Allamakee County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 3:20pm, I arrived in Waukon, and stopped at Cynda's West Side Cafe for lunch. I had a bacon cheeseburger, cottage cheese, root beer, and pecan pie with ice cream.

Cynda's West Side Cafe - Waukon, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

There aren't any back roads to Lansing, so I took Route 9 north out of Waukon. I passed the town's water tower, which looks like a rocket. A worker nearby wearing a backpack completed this picture for me.

water tower - Waukon, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just out of town a quick downhill turned into a very long uphill walk. I was finally at the top, and the highway seemed to follow the high ground from then on. There was just enough traffic that I found it easier to just stay on the gravel shoulder.

I passed this church, which seemed to be out in the middle of nowhere.

St. Mary's Church - Allamakee County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 6:07pm, I started an incredible downhill to Lansing's city limits. I was sure glad I wasn't going (walking!) the other way.

looking back at what would have been an incredible uphill climb - Allamakee County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
city limits - Lansing, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 6:40pm I checked in at the Red Barn Resort and Campground office. I was assigned site T4, which has a spring-fed creek behind the site.

Clear Creek - Lansing, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

This was a nice spot. The only damper was that rain was predicted for overnight.

campsite T4 at Red Barn Resort & Campground - Lansing, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

The only other concern I had this evening (besides the anticipated rain) was, would I be able to make it up the Lansing bridge ramp tomorrow without tying up traffic?

Subject: Day 17 report
Sent: Thursday, 6-3-2010, 8:38 PM
Up at 6:10am. I was expecting sun, but it was cloudy.
I'm glad I waited for the rain to pass yesterday - clermont got an inch I heard.
Met granddaughter of owner of building they burnt down in movie. She cooked me breakfast at the quarry lodge (part of skip-a-way campground).
Went through town (clermont) about 10:30am. Saw tractor used in the movie.
Was at clermont's bike trail at 10:40am. Took gravel roads after that, until near route 9.
Ate lunch in waukon at west side cafe at 3:20pm.
Followed route 9 to lansing. Had to walk up one hill just outside waukon. Then flat and a really long downhill.
Too much traffic to ride the white line so rode on gravel shoulder.
Arrived at red barn campground, site t4, at 6:50pm.
The last picture is from behind my campsite.
Breakfast: $8.62+2; lunch: $10.86+2; campsite: $21.40.
43miles, 8.1mph average moving speed.
Jeff
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Day Seventeen: 43 miles in 9 hours, 37 minutes = 4.5 mph average progress.

Spent: $8.62 plus $2 (breakfast) + $10.86 plus $2 (lunch) + $21.40 (campsite fee) = $44.88.

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 804 miles (1,294 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0