Day 16 - ending at Clermont, Iowa - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2010

Day 16 - ending at Clermont, Iowa

rode on Charley Western Trailway

Day 16 - Charles City, IA to Clermont, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up at 5:40am. Went over to the building where the complimentary breakfast is available. I had two donuts, one bagel, raisin bran cereal, orange juice and coffee. No one was there to see how much I ate.

breakfast by myself
Heart 0 Comment 0

I loaded up the bike and left refreshed at 8:20am.

Hartwood Inn - Charles City, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I wanted to do some more on the Charley Western Trail, so went north to the trail.

Charley Western Recreational Trail - Charles City, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

When the trail met Highway 18, I got off. It was a hazy morning.

a hazy morning along US-18 - Floyd County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

A very nice shoulder appeared near the Little Cedar River, but it didn't last.

nice shoulder on US-18 - Chickasaw County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 10:12am I crossed the 'Wapsi'.

US-18 at Wapsipinicon River - Chickasaw County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wapsipinicon River - Chickasaw County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was 11:10am when I arrived in New Hampton.

'City of Expanding Horizons' - New Hampton, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was farther north in the town than I'd expected. But that was OK, since here's where I wanted to be. I stopped at Klunder's Kafe for lunch.

Klunder's Kafe - New Hampton, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Trucker's Special breakfast sounded good to me.

lunch: 8-ounce ground round, 2 eggs, hash browns, pancake, and coffee
Heart 0 Comment 0

I headed east after that, spotting a farm-supply type store (Theisen's Home-Farm-Auto), where I bought batteries for the GPS's. Further east I came to one of the locations from the movie shoot - a busy intersection where (in the movie) the truck traffic in the rain was intimidating. Highway 18 has since been re-routed around town, so the traffic wasn't as bad for me, and it wasn't raining either.

on N. Linn Avenue looking south at the intersection with W. Milwaukee Street - New Hampton, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

None-the-less, I didn't stay on this highway for long, turning instead east onto residential streets after the railroad tracks. I rode through the campground where I'd intended to stay the night before, and then headed out of town east on Route 24.

At 1:06pm I turned south on Odessa Road, since it looked like rain to the northeast.

on Odessa Avenue looking south toward bridge over East Fork Wapsipinicon River - Chickasaw County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 1:49pm I stopped for a break. The clouds to the northeast were building up now.

Odessa Avenue (CR-V38) just south of 260th Street - Chickasaw County, IA
Heart 1 Comment 0

I messed around a little with the BlackBerry's camera, and came up with this picture. Maybe I was starting to look like Alvin Straight.

starting to look like Alvin
Heart 1 Comment 0

Shortly after, I turned east onto Highway 18. Not much later, I was near Fredericksburg. I'd passed an old bridge that I decided to check out. It's not used for vehicles anymore, and was apparently delivered to its present location by-way-of helicopter.

a helicopter-relocated bridge - Fredericksburg, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 2:41pm I was at the city limits.

'Dairy Capital of Iowa' - Fredericksburg, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

A little farther east I came to a picnic shelter along the road across from a Casey's General Store. I parked the bike and walked over to purchase a cream soda.

It looked like I'd get wet if I didn't slow down a bit and let the northeast rain pass to the southeast. So I took a 15-minute nap on one of their tables.

naptime
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 3:18pm I left, but stopped again at 5:00pm (at Quarry Road) for the same reason (the rain, not another nap).

waiting again for the rain to move on - Fayette County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I sat on the edge of a storm water drain pipe, half wondering what critter might come running out as I was sitting there. Ate the m&m's I'd bought the day before and called Tahdra for a weather report and to hear about how they were doing.

Back on the road I passed this farm, which left me wondering what the cows think of the 'Surge Milking System'.

farm that uses the 'SURGE Pipe Line Milking System' - Fayette County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was in West Union shortly after 6:00pm.

city limits - West Union, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Stopped at the Dairy Queen for supper, enjoying a Hawk Burger and a small butterscotch shake.

On my way again I passed this barn. In the movie, Alvin used a similar (but smaller) structure, for shelter from the rain. Fortunately, I didn't need shelter at the moment.

barn for sale for $2550, but sold - Fayette County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just after 7:00pm, I was at the top of the hill featured in the movie, where the tractor's brakes and transmission give out. The hill wasn't so bad, but I had brakes.

approaching the hill - Fayette County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
US-18 - Clermont, IA
Heart 1 Comment 0
almost to the bottom
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the movie, Alvin is zooming out of control past an old barn that's on fire to his right. Here's the field where the barn had sat.

location of the barn burnt down in the movie The Straight Story
Heart 0 Comment 0

There wasn't a burning barn at the bottom of the hill for me, but there was the turn-off to Skip-A-Way Resort, where I planned to spend the night.

a right turn here for me
Heart 0 Comment 0

After checking in at the office, I rode to the camping area, and set up at site #7.

campsite #7 at Skip-A-Way Resort - Clermont, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

This place was nice. Each campsite had its own night-light! There was a pop machine near my site, so I had a root beer while I relaxed.

Subject: Day 16 report
Sent: Wednesday, 6-2-2010, 9:38 PM
Awake at 5:40am. Ate motel breakfast at 7:20am: two donuts, bagel, raisin bran, orange juice, and coffee.
Left at 8:20am. Went out of my way a little to ride some on the charley western trail. Then got on route 18 east to new hampton. Lots of hills. According to the movie I wasn't expecting them until east of clermont.
Arrived in new hampton at 11:10am. Stopped and ate the trucker's special at klunder's kafe. Then bought gps batteries at a farm and fleet-type store.
Took gravel roads south then route 18 east to arrive at fredericksburg at 2:50pm, where I bought a cream soda at casey's. I wasn't completely in the clear rain-wise. The rain was north of me moving southeast. Took short nap on picnic table at fredericksburg to let the rain move on.
Stopped again at 5:00pm for 30m for the same reason.
Arrived at west union a little after 6:00pm and ate hawk burger and shake at dq there.
Definitely hill country northeast of west union, but mostly downhill for me.
Arrived at skip-a-way campground at 7:35pm and selected site 7 at 7:50pm.
Lunch: $8.91+$2tip; batteries: $13.86; soda (casey's): $1.76; supper: $6.51; camp fee: $16.05; soda (machine): $1.50.
62miles, 9.1mph moving average.
Jeff
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Day Sixteen: 62 miles in 11 hours, 30 minutes = 5.4 mph average progress.

Spent: $8.91 plus $2 (lunch) + $13.86 (batteries) + $1.76 (soda) + $6.51 (supper) + $16.05 (campsite fee) + $1.50 (soda) = $50.59.

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 761 miles (1,225 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0