Day 15 - ending at Charles City, Iowa - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2010

Day 15 - ending at Charles City, Iowa

rode on Charley Western Trailway

Day 15 - Clear Lake, IA to Charles City, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Got up at 5:40am. The tent was dry, so it was an easier morning.

another nice morning
Heart 1 Comment 0

Ate some Pop Tarts for breakfast, packed up and left at 8:40am. I'd decided to discard my plans to ride through Mason City on their bike paths, since rain was predicted for later in the day, and from the map I had, I wasn't sure how (if) the bike paths connected. So I headed back south.

Took this picture crossing over Interstate 35.

I-35 looking south from 210th Street (CR-B43) - Cerro Gordo County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 10:10am, I stopped to eat some of the beef jerky I'd bought in Laurens.

break on 210th Street (CR-B43) just east of Quail Avenue - Cerro Gordo County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I passed the Rockford Fossil and Prairie Park at 11:37am. I would have stopped to check it out, but of course, I was trying not to get rained on.

Fossil & Prairie Center - Floyd County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Arrived in Rockford just before noon, but didn't see a place to eat as I rode through.

West Park - Rockford, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

So I stopped at the Express Mart Cenex (convenience store) on the east side of town to fill my water jug and buy lunch items (hot meatloaf sandwich, barbecue chips, Vitaminwater, Nutter Butter Bites, and m&m's), which I ate under the shade of a tree across the highway near a school.

lunch on front lawn of Rudd-Rockford-Marble Rock (RRMR) Community School - Rockford, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

The still radar images that I'd been checking from time to time on the BlackBerry indicated that the rain would get to me before I'd get to New Hampton. Getting a motel room in Charles City became my new plan.

At 2:15pm, I arrived at Charles City.

'America's Hometown' - Charles City, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'd beat the rain by an hour or more, so decided to ride some on the bike trails that loops Charles City.

sign for the Charley Western Recreational Trail - Charles City, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

My ride was a short one, due to the missing suspension bridge over the Cedar River. I'd walked over it years ago, but didn't realize the flooding in 2008 had taken it out. There was a construction crew there, rebuilding it.

construction underway for replacement of the suspension bridge lost during the flood of 2008 - Charles City, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I turned around and decided to get something to drink and sit at the park. Found a Casey's General Store near the park, where I bought a Propel.

Cedar River from Bayou Bend Park - Charles City, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

The rain was getting closer, so I left to get my motel room lined up. Decided to try the Hartwood Inn on Gilbert Street. I asked at the check-in desk if it would be OK to keep my bike in the room. I could tell this request caused the girl at the desk some puzzlement and concern. She went to ask the manager, returning with a smile saying, "The manager says you're probably talking about a bicycle!" An initial problem with the room keycard was quickly resolved, allowing me in room #21 at 3:20pm.

room #21 at the Hartwood Inn - Charles City, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

After unpacking, it was time to figure out supper. There was a Dairy Queen on Grand Avenue, so I headed out on the empty bike at 4:08pm. Nearby lightning convinced me that maybe the Dairy Queen was too far away, so I turned around and headed for a nearby Git-N-Go (convenience store). Since the motel room had a refrigerator/freezer, and a microwave, I bought beef stew and ice cream. I was back in my room at 4:20pm, just in time to miss the rain.

an eat-in supper
Heart 0 Comment 0

I thoroughly enjoyed the shower, supper, the TV (Weather Channel), the bed, and being dry!

I don't know why, but it didn't dawn on me until I was in bed that the BlackBerry wouldn't charge very well overnight with the charger plugged into the switched outlet that the desk lamp was plugged into (with the switch off). After correcting that, I was able to sleep well.

Subject: Day 15 report
Sent: Tuesday, 6-1-2010, 7:38 PM
Awake at 5:40am. Tent was dry. Ate pop tarts for breakfast. Couldn't find any place to fill my water jug - the bathroom sink only put out hot water, and the jug wouldn't fit at the water fountain. Left with what I had at 8:40am.
Rain was predicted for the afternoon. With hopes of reaching new hampton before I got wet, I scrapped my plans of trying to work my way through mason city on their bike paths, and instead headed south to follow paved roads where possible.
Around noon I was in rockford, where I bought lunch items at the cenex. I ate them across the street in the shade of a tree in front of the school.
I'd been checking the weather radar, and it looked like the storm would beat me to new hampton, so decided to stop at charles city - and I was thinking "motel".
Arrived in charles city around 2:00pm. Bought a drink at casey's and went to the park to watch them work on foundation of the suspension bridge replacement.
At 3:00pm checked into the hartwood inn. There was initially some concern about me keeping my motorcycle in the room.
Bought supper items at the git n go and made it back just before it started raining (at 4:25pm).
Took shower and ate supper items.
43miles; 9.8mph average moving speed.
Lunch: $8.61; drink: $2.02; motel: $50.39 + $10tip; supper: $7.90.
Jeff
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Day Fifteen: 43 miles in 6 hours, 40 minutes = 6.4 mph average progress.

Spent: $8.61 (lunch) + $2.02 (Propel) + $50.39 plus $10 (motel room) + $7.90 (supper) = $78.92.

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 699 miles (1,125 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0