Day 13 - ending at West Bend, Iowa - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2010

Day 13 - ending at West Bend, Iowa

Day 13 - Laurens, IA to West Bend, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was up at 5:30am to a somewhat cloudy morning.

morning in Laurens
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tahdra had passed on to me last night that Kris (George's wife) thought I should give Verizon Wireless a call to see if they could get George's BlackBerry back on-line. I was a little reluctant to do this, since I was finding it easier to give Tahdra a verbal report each night for emailing out. But, with both the BlackBerry and TracFone charged up, this would be as good a time as any to give the service line a call. Standing at my site's power box, with the BlackBerry plugged in, I called the number using my TracFone. The service representative was very kind and understanding, but figured since I had no signal connection, there was nothing she could help me with. Toward the end of our conversation I mentioned the 'no radio connection' error message (apparently a key piece of information), and she transferred me to a technician. The tech had something simple and quick for me to try: drop the battery. That fixed it!

While I was on the phone, I noticed a few people walking over with lawn chairs to the Sportsman Park pavilion just south of my campsite. I'd seen a flier yesterday about an outdoor community church service at the 'City Park', though I thought maybe the 'City Park' was the one downtown that I'd seen last night. I'd considered last night whether or not to attend, but decided I might be a distraction to their church service if I went. But, if the service was going to be this convenient . . . As it turned out, only a handful of folks showed up, and I heard one gentleman say to the group before I got over there something like, "Thanks for coming. Maybe next year . . ."

With the BlackBerry working, I sent out the Day 3, Day 4, and Day 5 reports I'd written and saved, and a few pictures for Days 6, 7, and 8. I was spending too much time getting caught up, so saved the rest of the updating for later.

campsites at Time to Spare Campground - Laurens, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 10:00am I left the campground, and headed for breakfast at Deb's Country Kettle, a place listed in The Straight Story ending credits. However, they were closed for the holiday.

looking north at Third Street on a holiday weekend Sunday morning - Laurens, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

So I went to the Food Pride grocery store instead for breakfast items: a sandwich, a one-serving cherry pie, a quart of orange juice, and a package of Jack Links beef jerky.

Food Pride - Laurens, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode to the park area I'd seen yesterday just north of the elevator. An outdoor church service was just ending there. So this was 'City Park'! I sat down for eating breakfast at a picnic table away from the pavilion as the last of the community members headed to their cars.

With breakfast done, I sent off a quick thank-you email to Kris for getting me to call about the BlackBerry, and was on my way out of town at 11:02am.

one last look back at Laurens from 440th Street
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 12:15pm there was a thunderstorm to the south that was getting a little closer - enough to convince me to turn north on State Route 4.

I'm hearing thunder
Heart 0 Comment 0

It rained just a little - not enough to make me get out the rain gear.

Arrived in Mallard at 12:50pm.

city's greeting - Mallard, IA
Heart 1 Comment 0

Stopped at Sparky's One Stop Sinclair convenience store and bought a lemonade and Peanut Butter m&m's. At the suggestion of the clerk, I crossed the highway to a picnic table for a break, and to email out pictures for Days 9 and 10.

place for a break (northwest corner of SR-4 and CR-B63) - Mallard, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

From here I followed County Road B63 east that'd take me into West Bend, arriving at 2:54pm.

city limits - West Bend, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I headed north to the Grotto of the Redemption, a place shown in The Straight Story movie. I stopped at the cafe there to ask about camping. They referred me to the office across the street. I made a camping donation and picked up a brochure. Outside I took a picture of the grotto. A gentleman nearby offered to take a picture with me in it. He asked about my trip, saying he'd driven from Laurens and passed me on his way. I found out that this gentleman had delivered pizzas to the real Alvin Straight. He noted that Mr. Straight was different, and after a moment's pause said, "Well, the movie was about the trip, not the man."

made it to the Grotto
Heart 0 Comment 0

There were two campgrounds to choose from: 'North' or 'West'. I decided on 'West' and went to set up the tent. I was done just in time to join the 4:00pm tour of the grotto. Our tour guide did a good job, and allowed time for picture-taking.

Construction on The Grotto of the Redemption was started in 1912 by Priest Paul Dobberstein, and was continued by others after his death. It contains nine separate grottos, showing different times in the life of Jesus.

Grotto of the Redemption - West Bend, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
Grotto of the Redemption - West Bend, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
Grotto of the Redemption - West Bend, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
Grotto of the Redemption - West Bend, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
highest point at the Grotto of the Redemption - West Bend, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

After the official tour was over, I went through the rock museum, which was also interesting.

inside Grotto Museum/Rock Studio - West Bend, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back at the tent, the BlackBerry WeatherBug indicated a storm was coming. It was sure nice to be reconnected!

my campsite at the Grotto Campgrounds - West Bend, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I planned on eating supper at The Grotto Cafe, and guessed that if I waited until 6:00pm, I would be inside during the rain.

bicyclist meal
Heart 0 Comment 0
bicyclist dessert
Heart 0 Comment 0

I sent an email to my supervisor at work with pictures of my supper, asking if this is what I should be eating. He's a runner. I'm sure he was shaking his head.

I was a little off on my weather forecasting. It started raining just before I left the cafe, so I sat outside under the cafe's overhang until it stopped. I sent out pictures for Day 11 and Day 12, then went back through the grotto for a few more pictures.

Grotto of the Redemption - West Bend, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
Grotto Museum/Rock Studio - West Bend, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back at the campground I took a shower. It rained a little more, then cleared. I saw a rainbow over the grotto, so rushed over to the location I needed to be to get this picture. The end of another great day!

my fading rainbow picture
Heart 0 Comment 0

Subject: Day 13 report
Sent: Sunday, 5-30-2010, 9:18 PM
Awake at 5:25am. Packed up.
Called verizon and got reconnected ("drop battery to reboot"). I'm sure this was my fault, trying to shut this off before it got wet back at spring lake - sorry.
Considered going to the outdoor community service, since it was in the park, but they called it off when only half a dozen people showed up.
Left at 10:00am for local cafe, but it was closed for the holiday. Bought items at grocery store and went to city park to eat.
Left laurens at 11:02am. Went east then north to avoid storm to the south. Rode mostly deserted highways.
At 12:50pm took break in mallard.
In west bend at 3:00pm. Met gentleman who used to deliver pizzas to alvin straight.
Set up tent and took 4pm tour of grotto.
At 6:00pm ate supper at the grotto cafe.
Rained a little. Took shower.
Sky is clearing to west. Have rainbows.
Breakfast: $8.59; snack: $3.08; camping: $10; grotto tour: $5; supper: $14.20 + $2 tip.
30 miles; 9.7 mph avg speed
Jeff
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Day Thirteen: 30 miles in 5 hours, 25 minutes = 5.5 mph average progress.

Spent: $8.59 (breakfast) + $3.08 (snacks) + $10 (campsite donation) + $5 (tour donation) + 14.20 plus $2 (supper) = $42.87.

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 589 miles (948 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0