Day 11 - ending at Dakota City, Iowa - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2010

Day 11 - ending at Dakota City, Iowa

rode on Three Rivers Trail

Day 11 - Hampton, IA to Dakota City, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up at 5:05am to another beautiful day. Snacked on some ginger snaps while getting packed up. My plan for breakfast today was to eat at the concession stand I saw by the beach last night. At 7:45am I was heading there. The stand is set up more for boaters and fishermen. I don't know why I thought they'd have a full breakfast menu. However, they did have items that worked as breakfast for me: an ice cream sandwich and a V8.

Breakfast was finished and I was on my way at 8:03am.

I did well on following my preplanned route today, which included empty country roads in the morning.

farm field from I-35 overpass showing 170th Street (CR-C31) on the right - Franklin County, IA
Heart 2 Comment 0

At 10:52am, I was at the Iowa River, where I took a break. Birds were flying under and around the bridge. They were fast and fun the watch.

looking north at Iowa River along 200th Street - Wright County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

This building was on the far bank. Looks to me that it had been well-built, but maybe in the wrong place.

building next to Iowa River along 200th Street - Wright County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Stopped in Clarion at the New Home Cafe for lunch at 12:10pm. It was a busy place. I had the spaghetti special with garlic toast, lettuce salad, coffee, and apple pie with ice cream.

Shortly after leaving I stopped by the restored Rock Island Depot.

Rock Island Depot - Clarion, IA
Heart 1 Comment 0

Continuing south and west, I carefully followed my pre-loaded waypoints to Eagle Grove.

getting closer to trail
Heart 0 Comment 0

This is where I would start the Three Rivers Trail. The first section is along a gravel road that parallels train tracks.

looking southeast along 255th Street near N. Lincoln Avenue - Eagle Grove, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
255th Street next to railroad tracks - Eagle Grove, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 3:05pm, I was at the trail proper.

Three Rivers Trail near Calhoun Avenue - Eagle Grove, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I came to the town of Thor at 4:15pm.

water tower - Thor, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Silo construction was going on across from the water tower.

silo construction - Thor, IA
Heart 1 Comment 0

I took a break at Thor's city park, enjoying a Mr. Pibb from a pop machine across the street.

Easy trail riding until 4:17pm, when I followed my waypoints off the trail. Before the trip, using Google Earth, I figured I could get to Frank A. Gotch Park over a trail bridge. Well, I ran into a 'Private Road' sign before I got to the bridge. So back-tracking to the trail, I continued on into Dakota City. I was now on the correct side of the East Fork Des Moines River, and turned south at a trail spur that would take me to the park. That didn't work either, as the trail ended half-way there.

spur trail's end - Humboldt, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was now 6:21pm and I was getting frustrated. I contemplated just camping here, but I really wanted a shower. I was sitting on the picnic table when a bicyclist came by making a U-turn. I asked her about the trail not going through. She said the farmer who owns the land hadn't granted a right-of-way. She also told me about a Dakota City park that had camping, and how to get there. So back up the trail. I stopped long enough to get this picture of a few somewhat-protected railroad cars.

parked railroad cars - Dakota City, IA
Heart 1 Comment 0

At 7:50pm, I was at the city park. The camp host offered two spots I could choose from: between the shower house and playground, or by the river. I set up by the river, which gave me my own picnic table under a shelter. My bike and tent attracted the interest of a boy who was fishing. He had a lot of questions. With the tent set up and bike unloaded, I headed toward the Casey's General Store indicated on my PN-20. Unloaded, the bike felt like it was falling apart. Of course, I was just feeling the difference between riding on an empty-versus-loaded bike. At Casey's I bought a chocolate milk, a cookie, and a pack of bar soap. I'd been using shampoo for shower soap, but was getting tired of that.

On the way back, I took a picture of this restored Texaco gas station.

restored Texaco gas station - Dakota City, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back at camp at 8:44pm. Shortly after, I tried out the bar soap, which I was quite happy with.

Subject: Jeff report
Sent [by Tahdra]: Friday, 5-28-2010, 10:10 PM
Couldn't get through on the trail to Frank A. Gotch Park. A lady told him of a city park: Dakota City Memorial Park, a $6 night. Went 67 miles. His tire switch worked well - gravel roads almost the whole time. ~Tahdra

Day Eleven: 68 miles in 12 hours, 5 minutes = 5.6 mph average progress.

Spent: $2.30 (breakfast) + $11.45 plus $2 (lunch) + $1.25 (soda) + $6 (campsite fee) + $3.98 (supper) + $3.20 (bar soap) = $30.18.

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 516 miles (830 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0