Appendix: my bike - it's a Huffy - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

Appendix: my bike - it's a Huffy

After seeing links to pictures of my bike in the "Mystery" section at "Loaded Bicycles" (www.crazyguyonabike.com/doc/8000), I realized that I haven't provided enough information about my bike.

It's an "Open Road distributed by Montgomery Ward". The original equipment manufacturer is Huffy.

I purchased it in 1977 (or possibly 1978) at the catalog store in El Paso, Illinois (I'm still looking for the receipt to pin-down the date).

Open Road distributed by Montgomery Ward
Heart 1 Comment 0
an OEM clue
Heart 1 Comment 0

I have found the "Assembly Manual" and "Owner's Guide", and see that I wrote in there that it's Model Number C72357 and Code 80821P.

Serial Number HC9005954
Heart 0 Comment 0
date stamp on rim
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's single-speed, coaster brakes, and falls into the category of beach cruiser.

What got me bicycling again after twenty-five-plus years was looking for geocaches (www.geocaching.com) along bike trails.

modified Magellan MAP330 GPS mount - April 16, 2005
Heart 0 Comment 0
bike is ready for geocaching - April 16, 2005
Heart 0 Comment 0

The next two pictures show (somewhat) the rusty condition of the rims before I cleaned them up using Scotch-Brite pads and Dumonde Tech Citrus Solvent.

geocaching the I&M Canal Trail with sister Laurie - April 30, 2005
Heart 0 Comment 0
geocaching the Rock Island Trail with sister Linda - October 13, 2007
Heart 0 Comment 0

For my first touring trip, I secured a 12-volt sealed-lead-acid battery under the front basket to power flashing LED lights, and my GPS's through cigarette lighter sockets. I wired up a wall transformer that plugs into one of the sockets for recharging the battery when there's AC power available. On my second trip I found the sockets handy for recharging my cell phone and my friend George's BlackBerry, using their respective 'car chargers'.

front basket showing 12-volt SLA battery mounting - May 26, 2009
Heart 0 Comment 0
another (out-of-focus) view of battery mounting - May 26, 2009
Heart 0 Comment 0

During the summers of 2008 and 2009, I used my bike sometimes to make weekly trips to nearby Eureka to pick up vegetables from a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) that we were members of. I purchased the rear baskets for that reason. It wasn't until later that I determined they'd work for touring.

there have been times when the bike was clean - June 30, 2009
Heart 0 Comment 0
loaded with vegetables - August 25, 2009
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0