Day 9 - Riding Into Bliss - One For the Books - CycleBlaze

February 26, 2020

Day 9 - Riding Into Bliss

Sisophon to Siem Reap

I wasn't quite looking forward to the ride as I had already done it so many times before and it would basically consist of a long hot stretch into a headwind.  So I tried to delay as much as possible and set out around noon, but not before a nice meal.  

Great start to the day
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Things were actually fine, for several stretches the road just kept going straight and there was nothing around.  But there were these occasional little hillocks that would spring up offering nice breaks.   As the road kept going, it got more and more built up with tons of people riding bicycles to or from school.  The hellos and greetings were off the chain, not to mention the friendly encounters at all the stops.

Most unexpected and helpful was the mobile phone shop in the middle of nowhere that sold USB mini cables.  I was on a wild goose chase for these all throughout Bangkok and Pattaya with no luck, as I figured the technology was obsolete and nobody sold them anymore.  But my Garmin Edge still relies on such cables, and it wouldn't charge unless I could get my hands on one.  Finally, in the middle of the Cambodian countryside, there existed some shop that sold a 5-in-1 USB cable including the most sought after mini.  That was awesome, and only for $2.50.  I had to celebrate shortly after with a coke and hammock stop.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice coffee shop and sculpture museum in some random hillock
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beautiful AC. I saw a cycle touring couple rolling by in the opposite direction but by the time I could get up, it was too late. They likely didn't see me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This place has gone belly up. About a year and a half ago it was a lot more booming but for whatever reason the project has failed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stopped off at some town for a fruit juice, and I turned it into a whisky cocktail
Heart 0 Comment 0
A hamburger and Singapore Sling upon arrival
Heart 0 Comment 0
Way behind schedule, but to their credit a lot has been done in the last 6 months since I saw this.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At one of the cafes, the waitress also happened to be the director of an NGO and I basically got roped into teaching English to some children in a few days.  What can I say, it's just the way it is around here.  Next was to try and find a guesthouse.  Somehow without even a GPS or maps I found the exact same place again I had stayed at in July last year.  Same price too.

Apsara Dream. Pure bliss
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 105 km (65 miles)
Total: 812 km (504 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0