Day 4: Bangkok to Si Racha - One For the Books - CycleBlaze

February 17, 2020

Day 4: Bangkok to Si Racha

The owner of the Sananwan saw me off on Monday when it was decided I'd basically bike back to Pattaya.  News of the godamn coronavirus kept on coming in.  I said to him, "Maybe I'll be back to China and teaching again soon" and he replied, "I don't think so Steve".

Sure enough he was right.  That day, literally while on the road, more news came in saying the schools in Shanghai will start online teaching that day and it's anyone's guess as to when we'll be physically back in the classroom.

[Update November 2022]  That turned out to be mid-May of 2020

Looks interesting. What is it exactly?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The reality began to dawn on me that absolutely everything in China is shut down now and will remain for some time.  There were scenes everywhere of a ghost town.  It felt like my entire life there was over after nearly 20 years of having lived there.

So discouraged as had been for the past several days, yet still trying to chill out, in this spirit of things I stopped about 3km out of the guesthouse for a nice delicious Amazon coffee.  Then I was able to pick up the pace a little bit and reach Si Racha in time for dinner and a nice hotel.

Today's ride: 82 km (51 miles)
Total: 327 km (203 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0