Day 15: Virus Killers - One For the Books - CycleBlaze

March 9, 2020

Day 15: Virus Killers

Buri Ram to Phut Thaisong

"I'll have a fried egg and an omelette please"

The guy gave me two of each once he learned I was on a cycle tour.

The marvelous Ray Hotel and Jintana Resort
Heart 1 Comment 0

The staff at the Ray Hotel and Jintana Resort outdid themselves with the breakfast selection and the buffet table while eating beside the pool.  If this tour was only about the swimming pools, I'd be satisfied enough.  As it stands, it has been about far more.  

I spent the whole morning preparing my online class then talking about the coronavirus with friends.  Eventually I set off.  At any rate, the hot weather today would be a huge bonus.  It got up to 45C on the Garmin, or 115 degrees.  Just brutal.  It would have been nice if people could dump ice buckets on me like in Songkran but for now it just had to be frequent coffee shop breaks.  

The cycling today turned out to be super enjoyable and just chilling out and enjoying Thai style cruising.  The smartphone went off with some requests from China for more online tutoring, but I told them I'm not interested anymore, because it spoils the atmosphere of the coffee shops if I have to do work.  

I actually enjoyed the hot weather a lot, because there is no way in hell the coronavirus could survive something like this.  I was beginning to wonder whether I'd survive the heat myself.  

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got a phone call from my father later and he backed up the plan I was working on.  

Towards the end of the ride I bumped into two women running, and one had a tire dragging behind.  I stopped to chat and it turns out they're nurses and this is what they do for leisure.  I was told of course, "Be safe" and they seemed impressed with the bike journey so far, as was I impressed with them.  But as always happens, locals have different ideas of distances than they actually are.  They said a resort was 3km up the road.  In reality, it was more like 15km

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 70 km (43 miles)
Total: 1,308 km (812 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0