Pittsburgh to Connellsville, Pennsylvania: An Optimal Start - Steel City to Trumptown - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2019

Pittsburgh to Connellsville, Pennsylvania: An Optimal Start

Last night, half awake in bed, I glanced out the window and saw bolts of lightening arcing across the sky. This motel was built top notch, so we couldn’t hear anything from the outside, but there could be no doubt that a massive thunderstorm was blasting away out there. This fact placed the Anxiety Gerbil into his worry ball, where he proceeded to churn and churn for a good hour, trying to get me in a proper agitated state about today’s ride. “What if it rains? What if it rains? WHAT IF IT RAINS??” Ugh, Yes. I know. That is my own personal cycling boogeyman, even more than a flat tire. The idea of getting wet just makes me crazy. I drifted back into a worried sleep.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The iPhone went off at 6 AM as planned, and we laid in bed for ten more minutes as unplanned. Now that we’re both retired neither of us is willing to step up to the plate and be the adult in the room when its time to get out of bed. Finally, I mustered the courage to face the day, looked out the window, and saw no rain and a gradually clearing sky! Ooooh, this was good news. The Anxiety Gerbil retreated in disappointment. We shambled downstairs for the free breakfast (not bad, but soupy oatmeal. Margaret likes hers that way but I prefer mine to set up like concrete). We were out at the car by 6:50 getting the gear set for riding.

Gearing Up in the Hampton Inn Parking Lot at 7 AM
Heart 1 Comment 0

Now, Margaret and I have a very harmonious relationship (admittedly, mainly because she’s a Saint) but as we got the bikes and gear ready we almost had a “moment” before we’d even turned a peddle. Marg has a newly purchased rear bicycle “trunk” bag that sets on top of one’s back rack. We decided that it made sense for me to carry it on the tour to help distribute weight evenly. I had put the panniers on my bike and was trying to situate the trunk on top of the back rack but discovered that it was going to be a tricky job to get the trunk’s Velcro attachments in place to hold it secure because the panniers were well in the way of getting that done.

The “trunk” that almost caused marital discord.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Full disclosure: I can be a REALLY fussy ass sometimes, particularly before breakfast hits my bloodstream, and equally so at the start of a trip, i.e. this bike trip. I stipulate to the accusation that I was making some uncalled for grunts and groans of disapproval because the trunk was simply NOT cooperating with my expectations. Marg has been to this rodeo several times in our marriage, and diagnosing the symptoms said “Here. I’ll just carry it.” My first thought was, “God Mike, quit being an ass.” I apologized and threw myself on the mercy of the court asking for another chance and essentially pulled my heart out of my chest to show I really did want to carry that trunk. Marg gave me a steely look and acquiesced which was more than I deserved. I escaped banishment to the penalty box by the skin of my teeth. Ugh. Men/Me.

At the Confluence of the Ohio, the Allegheny and the Monongahela rivers at Mile 0 of the start of the trip.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Same spot, less good looking rider
Heart 1 Comment 1

The day was awesome. Blue skies with a few clouds and moderate temps perfect for riding. I had thought that the worst part of the day’s ride would be through, and just outside of, Pittsburgh but it was just the opposite. Urban riding, when there’s great bike infrastructure, is amazing! We got a good look at the bridges, the remnants of the steel making heyday of Pittsburgh and the many, many odds and ends of cityscape. I was thrilled that close to half of today’s 60 mile ride was on pavement. That made for easy work. The crushed limestone wasn’t bad at all, but there’s nothing like a paved surface to make biking sweet.

Urban riding through Pittsburgh
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oh, there, that sign says we’re on the right path
Heart 1 Comment 0
Marg riding over the Hot Metal Bridge (best name ever for a bridge I think)
Heart 1 Comment 0

We took a break to answer the call of nature as a trail side restroom and discovered that it was a small camping area, where there were a handful of fellows on various kinds of rides. One guy looked to be about our age and was riding to DC as well, although he said he’s be taking much longer than our planned six days. The most interesting, and in a way the most poignant group were four young guys in their mid-20’s to early 30’s. They struck me as a band of “lost boys,” though they looked happy with their lives. One young man shared he was a Kentucky native who has spent the last four years “on the road,” riding his bike here and there and picking up odd jobs for money. When Marg inquired where he lived when he traveled he replied, “I just sleep outdoors or in the woods.” He uses a tarp for shelter. This fact activated Marg’s Inner Mom and she gave him the kindest possible advice to make sure he stayed in touch with his family and stayed safe out there. All four of the guys we talked with are living very and varying degrees of transient lives, and often not living in any kind of permanent shelter. Yet, they did not seem “homeless." One fellow showed us two amazingly wild bikes he had made himself … conceived, designed, and welded. Check the picture. It is almost Dr. Seussian in looks, but functions well, and serves as a cargo bike in carrying his 85 pound pit bull on his travels. I could not decide how to “catalogue” this interaction .. whether to admire their determination to follow their own star, or to feel concern that they are seemed inches away from losing contact with family, work and the ability to re-enter mainstream society if they ever wish to. Overthinking it perhaps.

One of the Lost Boys who made that bike from scratch, with his Pit Bull named “Son”, with whom he rides along in his cargo bike.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The rest of the day was a mellow ride on the trail on a well maintained crushed limestone surface. There are multiple volunteer groups up and down the GAP who care for the trail and do a great job of it. It is obvious that the groups get out quickly after storms to make repairs or clear downed trees as needed. Love to see that, as the state trail system in Wisconsin is becoming more and more neglected. A shame to see as the rail trail idea started in Wisco. Eight years of Scott Walker helped put a few nails in the coffin of Wisconsin bike trails. Whoops. Getting political there. Let’s step back from that ledge.

Last Chance for water, son.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just outside of Connellsville
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tonight we are Connellsville, Pennsylvania at the Bikers B&B. I had thought perhaps it might be a little down and out but I was SO wrong. It’s a lovely place, with 24/7 access to the Keurig machine, of which I have availed myself several times. Marg and I did a walk-about of the downtown section of Connellsville, found a local coffee shop, had dinner at a tiny Italian restaurant (OMG it was amazingly good) and are now back at the B&B trying to stay awake past dark before we crash.

Where’s my afternoon coffee, damn it? Oh ... here it is. Never mind.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Alas, the weather forecast says a VERY good chance of precipitation all day tomorrow. I’m hoping that means a very good chance of sprinkles, versus torrential downpour. C’mon sprinkles! Really, once you’re wet, you’re wet, and there’s nothing left to worry about. Perhaps I’m not anxious about getting wet. Maybe I have issues with transitions … dry to wet, hungry to full, happy to sad … We’ll have to look into that, yes?

Thank for reading everyone, whoever you may be. If there’s no one to hear your story, there is no story to tell.

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 62 miles (100 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Scott AndersonHow do you like that ‘trunk’ carrier, btw? We tried that some years bac’ but it didn’t make the cut. It just didn’t seem like a very effective space to us.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike JamisonTo Scott AndersonThat thing fell out of favor after a year. Margaret is a sucker for any piece of gear with lots of compartments, zippered slots, and various pockets. But after a season of using that beast on and off she finally relegated it to the dustbin in the basement. She's currently trying to convince our daughter to take guardianship of it :-)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Mike JamisonAh, ha! A compartment person! But, does she have compartmentalized panniers? I had Arkel recumbent panniers for a few years. I am not a compartment person, sort of. I like all of my stuff in one big bag, but I also put everything in ziplock bags. Thus, inside of the pannier I suppose you could say I have compartments. The difference is that I can see in them. With the Arkel panniers, I was forever unzipping sections, trying to find what I wanted.

Do you have riding plans for 2022?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike JamisonTo Kelly IniguezMarg's flirtation with the multi-pocketed gear was brief! Her panniers have always been Ortlieb's although when she was making her choice several years ago she was awfully close to being seduced by Arkel's mass of compartments! Nothing like a Big Ol' Sack to put your stuff into, right?

'22 is a bit up in the air, although we are committed to an ACA gravel oriented ride in Virginia, in May. Besides that probably nothing epic, as we're going to be attending the World Track & Field Championships in Eugene, Or. in July (Track is the "family sport") and our daughters and we are going to be doing a non-biking trip in late August. I'm thinking of taking part in a 24 hour endurance ride in Michigan, in June. That would probably be a very misguided attempt but I did a couple events like that about 20 years ago, and have had a hankering to try something ridiculous like that again. BTW, I LOVE reading your journals, Kelly!! Thanks for writing and sharing them.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago