to Millersburg - biking from Omaha to DC - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2022

to Millersburg

it seemed like today might be the best cycling day of the trip. Our proposed distance was 40 miles, but I thought I could do more. The rest of the group was prepared to start at 9, but I left shortly after 7. It was, again, a well paved trail and easy to follow. I went out about 20 miles then turned around and came almost all the way back. Today was about getting the miles in and not about the journey. There is a similar distance tomorrow and I plan to go slowly. 

At mile 22, we expected the trail to end and we would get on some roads. The trail kept going and I didn't realize that I missed the turn. I found out I was wrong when I ran into the route planner who mentioned the turn we went past. The trail went for quite a while to Glenmont and then there were markers showing how to pick up the last bit from Killbuck to Millersburg. We all had lunch near the hotel on the trail. I went out and got the final 18 miles for 101. There were many, many Amish or Mennonites on bikes and ebikes on a beautiful Sunday. 

The hotel is one of the oldest operating hotels in Ohio and the room I'm sharing with two other men is quirky. 

Today's ride: 101 miles (163 km)
Total: 1,214 miles (1,954 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0