to Columbus - biking from Omaha to DC - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2022

to Columbus

The forecast was for scattered rain in the morning turning to heavier rain later. 8 of  us set out. It was in the 60's and not too bad. About 20 miles in it started to rain. It let up occasionally for brief periods. I did not have the route on my GPS and tried to load it twice more without success. It was a nice trail, very well paved and paved recently. Lunch was scheduled at 44 miles. The organizers offered to transfer us by car the rest of the way. I did not know the route by bike and everyone else decided to go by vehicle and I joined them. 

I had met a fellow cyclist, Dean, around 2000 when I participated in the XOBA (Cross Ohio Bicycle Adventure). We did 10 week long rides together in the next 15 years or so before we lost touch. I emailed him on the 25th and he said he had something going in Columbus the 26th and so he met me at the hotel and we spent an hour catching up. It was great to see him again.

Later I heard that one of our group tested positive for COVID, although we are all vaxxed. He has mild symptoms. More on this tomorrow.

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 1,065 miles (1,714 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0