Equipment - Springtime on the Stagecoach 400 - CycleBlaze

Equipment

The Bike

I will be riding my steel beauty, a 2020 Surly Krampus ("Kronk") outfitted with frame and saddle bags, a handlebar roll, and two fork-mounted dry bags. The bike is stock save for the Brooks Saddle and Ergon handlebar grips. I'll be running 29x3.0 Surly Dirt Wizard tires, which should help me out on sandy and rocky trails but will likely bog me down on longer stretches of pavement. I will have the capacity to carry up to 6 liters of water, which may come in handy across some of the longer desert stretches, particularly between Diablo Dropoff and Ocotillo Wells. When fully loaded, this setup is hefty. I don't even want to bother weighing it. Of course, I am using this tour as a way of familiarizing myself with (and training for) the Stagecoach 400 race happening in early April. My setup at that time will be significantly lighter, and my legs will have been "acclimated" to riding a much heavier bike. At least, that is my hope. 

My trusty companion, here on the epic Noble Canyon Trail in San Diego County.

CaptionCutAdd line aboveAdd line belowDelete

Heart 1 Comment 0

Camping and Cycling Gear

Camp gear will consist of the following: 1 person tent (Tarptent Bowfin 1S); sleeping bag (REI) and pad (Nemo Tensor Air); cooking gear, including my trusty Jetboil, utensile and bowl, and pocket knife; toiletries, including sunscreen, chamois cream, Dr. Bronner's multi-use soap, toothpaste+toothbrush, and toilet paper; and food (lots of oatmeal, pasta, nuts, and other calorie-dense foods)

Cycling Gear will consist of the following: Lyzene pump, tire irons, and 1 spare tube; tubeless tire repair kit consisting of tire plugs, tire boot, patch kit, 2oz sealant, and curved needle and thread; and multitool, chain lube, rag, and chargers for light and phone. 

My new Tarptent Bowfin 1S and bikepacking setup on an overnight trip several weeks back up Oriflamme Canyon. I'll be heading down this way 3-4 days into my journey.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Clothing

Two synthetic long sleeved sun shirts; one wool short sleeved shirt; one pair riding shorts; two pairs wool socks and synthetic underwear; Patagonia fleece; rain jacket; beanie; top and bottom thermals; riding gloves; and riding and camp shoes.

The fully-loaded setup.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0