Tucson - Sonoita, AZ - The Squealing with Glee Tour - CycleBlaze

December 30, 2017

Tucson - Sonoita, AZ

I was up early, excited to get the tour on the road. I went down to breakfast before 7 AM and found Don and Harpo already there. We lingered, chatting. Marilyn showed up and we continued talking. I was in no hurry. Oren came down, asked where Jacinto was (no surprises there, he's asleep), and disappeared again. Oh, perhaps we should be getting ready. I won't take long, I don't have much stuff.

I applied a heavy layer of sunscreen in anticipation of the long, sunny day.

Jacinto went for breakfast and Tom arrived. Tom lives in northern Tucson. He did not come to dinner last night, so we haven't had a chance to say hello. I'm going down there now.

It's going to be a great ride today! More later.

It was an interesting day. All of my concerns about getting out of town were for naught. I was determined to follow Don and Marilyn as they had scoped out the beginning of the route. But the men forged ahead as if they knew where they were going. Typical men. I followed along. I was hoping Bertha was on duty today. She should be. We had about three miles before getting off on Littletown Road and bearing left to the Julian Wash Bikepath. That lasted six miles. We stopped at a nice trailhead/bathroom. Layers were removed and the restroom was appreciated. Spoon had a little issue with the boom on his bicycle turning sideways. Luckily he had the allen wrench to tighten it in the correct position. They sky was blue and the wind was light. What a perfect riding day! We bicycled past a large solar display.

Our bike path soon ended and we were back on the road. So far all of the roads we've ridden in Tucson have well marked bike paths that the motorists respect.

The four single men and I stayed roughly together until the frontage road along the highway at mile ~19 Bertha had me routed on the interstate, but we took the frontage road instead. Bertha was not so happy. Right at the end of the frontage road, Jacinto caught up with us. He had departed almost two hours behind us, but here he was. That is one problem of riding with a group. If one person stops, everyone stops. There can be plenty of stopping involved.

Jacinto and I took the Old Sonoita Highway. The others continued on Highway 83 - our route clear to town. I was looking forward to today's ride. All of the research I've done shows it's a scenic ride through hilly country. That turned out to be correct.

Tom and Oren ended up riding together. Spoon and Harpo decided to take it slow and easy. I told Jacinto I didn't expect him to stay with me, I was just fine. Really the only issue I had, which is quite laughable for December, is that I was dressed inappropriately. I was too hot. I had other clothes to change in to, but decided as long as I kept moving and had some air on me, that I was okay with tights. We saw many bicycle riders today and they all had on summer clothing. Jacinto rode with one fellow for a few miles, chatting.

Jacinto was gone. I caught up to Oren and Tom on a climb. Tom stayed ahead of me, Oren stayed behind. I was getting close to the top of the climb at mile 39. Then I knew there was a downhill cruise into town. Woohoo!

Wait. Who is this pulling up? A green Ford Ranger with David and . . Jacinto? They were going to rescue Harpo and said Spoon had already been picked up. ??? they were off. That was all I got.

I was happy to arrive in town and see our lodging on the left. I pulled in to the parking lot, parked my bike, and pulled out the burrito that Jacinto thought to purchase last night. I didn't even make it inside. I started eating right there. Oren came in right behind me. He didn't chat, but went inside.

Here came the little green truck - with Harpo. David got out and introduced himself. He had decided to come looking for us and it's a good thing he did! One Trail Angel on duty today. We talked about our route and less traveled roads that we could take. We talked about David's upcoming two month (!) long tour starting in April. I started to get cold, so wanted to shower. It sounds like David might ride a few miles with us tomorrow.

We have a giant room on the ground floor. Jacinto was impressed. He said several times how nice the room is. It is rare he comments about the room one way or the other, except to note the price.

They had wine with cheese and crackers at 5 PM. What a nice addition to my journal writing! Now we are ready for dinner. There are two choices. The nice but pricey steak house next door, or the restaurant across the street. That's where I think we are going.

I've tried twice to text Don and Marilyn. The last I heard from them was at 4:30. They were at mile 35 (close to the top of the climb. They should be here very soon.

The guys have been hanging out around the fireplace, telling stories. I think the stories are getting wilder and wilder.

Time for dinner. It's been an excellent day. I enjoyed the road - it didn't have too much traffic, there was a nice shoulder, and the scenery was varied.

Later - We met Don and Marilyn just arriving as we were going to dinner. I didn't get the whole story, but they had run out of water and had a long trip into town. It was dark, but they had good lights and the moon is almost full. They are pooped.

We ended up at the Steak House for dinner. It was the only place open and it was hopping busy. They had live music, which made it difficult to hold a conversation. It took a long time to get our food, a short time to scarf it down, and a medium long time to pay. A couple of members of our group had little cat naps while we waited for food. I will not name names.

Breakfast here at the Inn looks minimal - English muffins and yogurt. Cereal. I didn't see any oatmeal. Jacinto did find out that there is a breakfast place 'across the square'. We might be going there in the morning.

The official start photo. Three diamond frames. Theee short recumbents and one recumbent tandem.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our first bathroom break.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our first (and only) mechanical challenge. Spoon had her tightened in no time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have been lax in my bike photos this tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill- your assignment for the day. These were all over the entire day. Edit - Bill reports in that these are most likely soap tree yuccas, based on the flower pods.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto and I took the six mile detour on Old Sonoita Highway. It was traffic free. Except when I had my pants down!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tom and Oren rode together much of the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The scenery is different today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to look twice before I realized these were statues.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oren arrives at Sonoita Inn.
Heart 0 Comment 0
David Bain is a local cyclist who reached out to us on the guestbook. He gave us tips on local roads that “have so few people you could ride down the center naked and no one would care”.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is my typical post riding day position. Showered, in bed, working on the journal. I don’t usually have a glass of wine. That’s a bonus from the Sonoita Inn.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The reward at the end of the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 314 miles (505 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0