Rest day. - The Squealing with Glee Tour - CycleBlaze

December 29, 2017

Rest day.

It has been a good rest day. My leg muscles are still tired. I blame it on racing the first couple of days. I also wonder in the back of my mind if they would still hurt if I had been drinking Spiz., I think it's a great on the bike drink and also recovery drink. I have currently applied Sore No More cream on my entire legs like hand lotion. Jacinto has gone for a walk because he says his eyes water so much from the smell.

We've had a lovely day off. We finally met Don and Marilyn this morning. We lingered over breakfast and chatted. They headed off for a ride and we lounged in the room until we went to the movie. I had a Five Guys hamburger because we don't have them in my area.

Now my legs are relaxing in their ointment, Jacinto has gone for a walk, and I'm waiting for Spoon and crew to call or text and say they've arrived. That should be momentarily.

Tomorrow is our most difficult day of the tour. 49 miles and 3,5xx feet of climbing. I'm looking forward to the scenery between here and Sonoita. It is said to be lovely. The weather forecast is ideal. Ah, to be able to take this weather in December for granted.

The guys arrived 15 minutes early. They all had glazed eyes from two very long days on the road. We started many conversations and finished few, there were so many thoughts popping to the top of our minds. We migrated down to the lobby where Don and Marilyn were waiting. The original thought was pizza. Pizza Hut was only a few doors down and perhaps they would have salad. But they served take out only. We moved on to Denny's. Poor Don and Marilyn stood up well under the peppering of questions. They are the only new people in the group, there were many unknowns. Including a very direct question asking them if riding a tandem enhanced their love life! Ahem.

We agreed on a 9 AM departure. That would give the sun a chance to warm things up but account for the longer miles and allow time for the 3,500 feet of climbing.

It's going to be great riding with the gang. I was in bed with lights out by 10 AM.

Don and Marilyn’s recumbent tandem fits in their Toyota van with only the front wheel removed. I’m impressed. A key point is that the Sienna does not have a front console. My Chrysler van has a console. I also purchased for the specific purpose of hauling my long bicycle.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0