Long downhill day: Plan d'Aups to Ste. Maxime - Spring training in Provence - CycleBlaze

April 4, 2015

Long downhill day: Plan d'Aups to Ste. Maxime

There are those days when the ride goes along smoothly, nothing much happening. Today was one of those days. I left Plan d'Aups early enough, and from there it was downhill almost all the way to the coast.

Long straight road through the "forest" of scrub oaks. Downhill, so a very easy ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I bought a sandwich in Pierrefeu de Var for lunch and continued to Collobrieres, where I stopped for water.

I rode through groves of Cork Oaks.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Over one small col.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A couple of small bumps in the road to get over, then a swooping downhill to the bike path and into Ste. Maxime. I booked myself into a hotel for two nights, as the forcast was for rain in the morning. Even though it is the off-off season, there are still a lot of foreign vacationers about, mostly Germans and Dutch, plenty of fancy cars, and of course a harbor full of yachts. I went out to mingle with the punters, and found a spot to dine on mussels and fries, which I washed down with a local chardonnay. Then back to the hotel to wash socks, and an early bedtime.

Today's ride: 104 km (65 miles)
Total: 290 km (180 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0