I'm tired of winter - Spring training in Provence - CycleBlaze

April 1, 2015

I'm tired of winter

My beautiful wife has left me to visit relatives in the USA, and this has left me with time on my hands. All winter long Susan has kept me occupied with household projects, lest I show signs of boredom or grouchy behavior. And that is good, but now that she is gone I'm aching for some saddle time. The touring bike has been prepared for another season, bolts tightened, axles greased, a new front wheel built, and new brakes installed. Gear has been checked, and the weather reports for France scrutinized for the best places to find sun. As always, the Côte d'Azur is the first place in the country to welcome spring, and the forecast for the next week of so is for sun. Burgundy, and for that matter. The rest of northern France will have rain, so it is easy to decide on a destination.

My friend Léo, cycletouriste extraordinare, has also gone touring. Now Léo, as you might know, always carries his tent, and has been known to pitch it in howling winds, driving rain, and even snow. He routinely sleeps in his canvas shelter when the temperatures are below freezing, laughing at mountain gales and regaling in frost-covered mornings. I am not so hardy an adventurer, so this trip will be done in the comfort of small hotels, and cosy country restaurants. Besides, it's the off,off season in the Côte d'Azur, and the prices are sure to be at least somewhat reasonable. The recent rise of the dollar also makes the finances more tolerable. So, sorry Léo. I'm wimping out on this one, but I'll think of you over a pastis or two as I peruse the menu.

Today's ride: 18 km (11 miles)
Total: 18 km (11 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Scott AndersonI’m tired of winter also Keith, but that’s not why I’m writing. I wanted to let you know of a new website we just put up yesterday, Cycle365: http://cycle365.life. It’s meant as an alternative to Bicycle Life, since most of those participants couldn’t take Neil’s rants any more and dropped out. You might check us out. You’ll recognize all of the authors who have signed up so far.

Take care, wish we were there!
Scott
Reply to this comment
6 years ago