To Porto Covo - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

November 12, 2017

To Porto Covo

I quite enjoyed the hostel last night. There were just the 2 other women in the room. One was from Belgium and was hiking the Rota Vicentina, and the other was German and on a driving holiday to see nature. The other women went to sleep even before I did, and I'm usually the first one at a hostel. The breakfast was good, too. The only problem was that they told me to leave my laundry outside to dry overnight, and it was wetter in the morning. I fixed that with the drier available to guests for 2.50 euros. Not the best way to dry my bike shorts, but it worked in this pinch. It was cold in the room, but the hostel provided each bed with 2 heavy blankets. There was an electric heater in the room, but we didn't use it.

The ride flattened out a bit today, but the wind did not abate. I rode through a bunch of poorer looking farming country.

The cows have bells, demonstrating that cowbell are not just for noise during bike races.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There is a bridge over a river going into the village of Vila Nova de Milfontes.

Looking out toward the ocean from the bridge to Vila Nova de Milfontes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking inland from the bridge at Vila Nova de Milfontes.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped there and had some coffee and asked about the road to Porto Covo. The guy at the cafe spoke English well, and told me the coast road was good, so I headed off in that direction. He was right, the road was fine. It was just the wind that was a problem.

I met an American family on bikes as I approached Porto Covo. The kids were in trailers, and they had stayed in Porto Covo last night. I asked them where they stayed, as the options on Booking.com didn't look too good. They said the Hotel Porto Covo had been nice and not too expensive. When I got into town there were signs to follow to the hotel. I think the family got a better deal than I did, but it's a nice place with a kitchen in the room.

I walked down to the beach and through town after settling in. It's a very quiet little town, and seems completely new. There is an area called the historic center, but I don't think it is really historic. The beach and the fishing port are scenic.

For reference, I hadn't found any information on-line indicating a hostel in town, but there was a sign saying 300 meters to the Ahoy Porto Covo Hostel. I didn't verify that it still exists, but it may be an option. There is camping in town, too, but I think it's too cold now, at least for me.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 km (21 miles)
Total: 881 km (547 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0