To Carmona: Through the plains to a city on a hill - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

October 22, 2017

To Carmona: Through the plains to a city on a hill

This morning was the first morning of the trip when I've had breakfast included with my room. It was exactly the same breakfast I've been able to get on my own, coffee and toast. I did supplement it in my room with some items from a store including some juice and some rice pudding.

The ride today cut northwest, not following the autovia. I was on small roads, with some options for gravel which I did not use. So I was all on pavement today!

Heart 0 Comment 0

The roads were quiet with little traffic, through a lot more farmland. The city of Marchena was just past the half way point of the ride, and there was not a single service between Osuna and Marchena, no gas station, no convenience store, not even a rural bus stop to find some shade.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped in Marchena hoping to grab some lunch. I didn't want to go too far into town, and didn't find a bar near my route, so I stopped in a park that had some benches in the shade and ate an apple and drank some juice I had been carrying, and then got going again. The area leaving Marchena was a bit industrial and had more traffic, but before long I was out in the farmland again. It seemed exceptionally flat, but small rollers added some variety.

Heart 0 Comment 0

When the city of Carmona came into view, it was clear that I was going to have a good climb. It was early afternoon, and the Spanish sun was taking a toll on me. Not too long after starting the climb I stopped and poured most of a water bottle over my head to cool down. Then I alternately rode and walked up the mile long hill. At the first junction near the top, I dove into a gas station and bought a cold drink from their fridge, and sat for a while cooling off. Then I continued climbing into town and found my way to my hotel.

I had booked the Casa Contilla on line. The rooms are "apartments" with cooking facilities and a refrigerator. I have a private little courtyard where my bike is stored. I had booked one night, but extended it another so I'll have a full day to rest and to explore this medieval town.

After I showered, I went out to find some groceries, anxious to cook something and to avoid the acid indigestion I've been getting from restaurant meals. Unfortunately, I'd forgotten that it was Sunday. Everything was closed. Google showed one store as open. I even called them to verify, but got a recording that said telephone customer service was only available Monday through Friday. I took a chance and walked to the store, and it was indeed closed. I stopped at a bar and had some food, a plate of fried fish. It turned out to be mostly anchovies. Anchovies taste like anchovies, even in Spain, or maybe even more like anchovies in Spain. So I only ate one anchovy, but the other fish and the calamari was good.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 307 km (191 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0