To Antequera, by bus: A rainy, rainy day - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

October 17, 2017

To Antequera, by bus: A rainy, rainy day

It poured rain all day today. I'm still skipping through some of the Spanish hills, and planned to take the bus to Antequera today. I'll get back to riding before too long, and keep this a bike trip.

I donned my rain gear for the ride to the bus depot. It was roughly 3 miles away, plus time for getting lost and for resorting to the sidewalk on one way streets. During the short ride my feet got completely soaked, and I remembered that I had forgotten to put on my waterproof socks. They were an Amazon purchase of a non-branded item, and it would have been good to find out how well they worked.

I arrived at the bus depot with a couple of hours to spare. I talked with a New Zealander who had walked the Camino de Santiago from France into Spain and Portugal. It sounds like it was quite an experience, although he said the auberges were often overcrowded with inadequate bathroom facilities. He asked me about my trip. It's the first time anyone has shown any interest.

The bus ride was uneventful. My bike was flat in the luggage bin, and with very few passengers there was plenty of space. The rules say that a bike is supposed to be "made small" and covered with a bag you can buy from the bus company, but I've not been asked to do anything other than load my bike into the luggage area. The rules also say you have to wear a seatbelt, but this bus didn't even have any.

When we arrived in Antequera, I got a coffee at the depot from a vending machine and sat down to make sure I knew how to find my hotel, the Hotel Castilla. I didn't want to waste time in the rain. While I was there, another bike tourist came by. He was a Spaniard, and had finished his tour and was heading back to Madrid.

I found the hotel and got checked in okay. They suggested putting my bike in my room, and helped me with it in the elevator, standing up on the rear wheel to fit. I booked a single room but have been put in a room with 2 twin beds, and more space than I've had previously.

The emergency plan shows that my room is not the smallest on the floor, but is interesting in reflecting that nothing is quite square.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I went out in the rain for a short walk. Antequera is a small town, much more my speed, and has a lot of archaeological as well as historic sites. I've reserved two nights here. The rain is supposed to continue tomorrow. I hope it doesn't interfere too much with my sightseeing.

Coffee at the hotel restaurant.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 6 km (4 miles)
Total: 159 km (99 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0