Setubal - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

November 14, 2017

Setubal

Things were really quiet at the campground last night. Most of the cabins and permanently placed caravans were apparently empty. I was the only one in the tenting area, and I may have been the only person using my toilet block. The only noise was from the waves crashing on the beach and from my tent flapping in the wind.

There was, however, apparently something else using the toilet block. I met it when I got up at about 5 am. As I came out of the toilet, there was a large grey fox staring at me. I dodged out the other side of the door, rushed to my tent to zip in behind my nylon wall, and crawled back into my sleeping bag. Then I heard a ping from my bicycle spoke, and then the distinct sound of something trying to get into my panniers, which I had left on my bike. I made some noise and flashed my flashlight, and it got quiet. I did not fall back asleep. When dawn came and I crawled back out, I was happy to find no damage to my panniers. Just a fresh pile of poo next to my front wheel.

I left the campsite just a little past 8, and had to have the guard let me out. I had paid yesterday, anticipating an early departure. The ride back out to the main road exercised all of my gears, from the tiny granny to the big one. Once I reached the main road, it still rolled a little, but the slopes were not so extreme. The wind was not as strong as it had been yesterday, but there was still a headwind to contend with. The road out to Troia, where I planned to catch the ferry to Setubal, is mostly rural and quiet. I didn't reach a stop for coffee until nearly 20 km into the ride. The road goes through lots of pine forest, with occasional glimpses of the ocean.

Pine forest in the sand.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The town of Comporta was a landmark, and is a fishing village.

Fishing dock at the town of Comporta.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I reached the ferry a little bit before noon, and had just 10 minutes to wait. Then I rolled my bike on with the foot passengers and wandered around the boat during the 30 minute ride.

Heart 0 Comment 0
There's my bike, down there!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Setubal looked pretty from the boat, and is also pretty on land. I'm staying at a hostel in the old city, Day Off Hostel. It's a nice, modern place in a renovated old building. My plan to meet people by staying in a hostel isn't working, however, since I'm the only one here tonight. The town seems really quiet, too. People aren't out too much at night because it's cold, but the city is putting up Christmas decorations.

Setubal, from the ferry.
Heart 0 Comment 0
From the hostel rooftop.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 km (25 miles)
Total: 974 km (605 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0