Merida: An amazing Roman city - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

November 20, 2017

Merida: An amazing Roman city

From the museum. Merida was called Augusta Emerita in Roman times. It was founded in 25 B.C., honoring Octavio Agusta.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This bust of Augusta is in the museum, but was originally in the Theater.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There are ruins, in various stages of restoration, scattered around the city. As you walk around the modern city, it's hard not to think of the old city that is likely buried under your feet.

The amphitheater, for gladiator fights, and the theater, for (well) theater and other gatherings have been through several stages of restoration, starting in the 1920's.

The Roman theater.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The amphitheater, for gladiator fights.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

There is a house, the Mithreum House, where a family lived in Roman times, partially restored, with work ongoing. The site is protected from the weather under a large roof.

Restoration in process at the Mithreum House.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Plaza De Toros, not Roman.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A fountain in the middle of a traffic circle. The misting water looked like fog.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Alcazaba is a site that went through many transformations over the years. It was a Roman fort to protect the city, and when the Moors, i.e. the Visigoths, invaded, they reinforced the walls and made it their own fort.

In the Alcazaba. There was a connection to get and store water from the river. It was cool and humid in here, and fogged up both my camera lens and glasses.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Alcazaba became an olive grove for some time.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
For my friend Laura, Roman mill stones.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This statue is in a traffic circle and can be seen entering the city from the Roman bridge over the Rio Guadiana.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Roman Circus, for chariot races. The site was cut in half by modern highway to Lisbon, but the highway has been moved and the Circus is partially restored. Before the highway, there was tract housing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of a few sections of aquaduct around town. It's amazing to me how tall these structures were, and that the builders were able to maintain the slope to move the water where they wanted.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the Roman baths. The birds don't respect the archaeology.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Near the Polytechnic. I think it is an observatory, and the birds don't respect it, either.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More aquaduct.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A mosaic in the museum. Moved from the amphitheater. I guess they really did fight lions.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I have lots and lots of pictures, and am trying not to go overboard posting them here. Suffice it to say that I made it to all of the sites included on the all-inclusive archaeology ticket, to other free sites like the aquaducts scattered around town, and to the Museum of Roman Arts. I'm tired, and my feet are tired, but I can honestly say that I've "done" the city.

I've extended my stay in Merida, though, and tomorrow I'm taking a side trip from this side trip, and going to Caceres by train. I'll come back to Merida in the afternoon, and then return to Lisbon the next day. I do have to switch rooms at the hotel. I hadn't realized that I had been upgraded to a "superior" room, and they aren't willing to let me keep it for another night at the same rate. They did offer it to me at a discounted rate, but still more than I wanted to pay. So right now I'm enjoying my room with a comfortable double bed and a large private outside terrace. I was cold last night, and just found out that I can turn on the heat. It's going to be difficult to adjust to winter when I go home. Yes, my mind is wandering in that direction.

Temple of Diana.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0