A quick ride to Sagres: Wind! - Southern Spain and Portugal - CycleBlaze

November 8, 2017

A quick ride to Sagres: Wind!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a flat tire, too, after I arrived in Sagres. I found the hole by dunking the tube in the swimming pool at the hostel. It was a strange flat. There were 3 holes clustered in an area of the tube that was quite deformed. I patched the holes, but didn't find anything in the tire and am a little baffled by what happened.

I've taken a single room at a hostel called Funky Monkey. It's basically a surf camp, and is a pretty lively place. There is some fine print in booking.com that basically says they don't want people over 40 here. When I checked in, I asked about it and offered to go elsewhere. I was told it was no problem, and that the over-40 discouragement was the response from the owner to some bad reviews from people who didn't realize they had booked a hostel. There are some 4-person bungalows that are quite expensive, and sound fancier than they are. I explained I had specifically booked a hostel to meet people and to use the shared kitchen. And I had initially thought I would book at Sagres Natura, which sounds much more my speed, but it was full. And it turns out to be a surf camp, too.

Today's ride: 32 km (20 miles)
Total: 730 km (453 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0