To Yoongton 24 hour love motel near (but not in) Ban Salok Bat: Beggars can't be choosers - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

November 1, 2016

To Yoongton 24 hour love motel near (but not in) Ban Salok Bat: Beggars can't be choosers

I left the hotel at 7:30, after enjoying the hotel breakfast. I had the American Breakfast, which consisted of a fried egg, a slice of ham, 2 hot dogs, and a bit of salad smothered in mayonnaise. There was also self-service coffee and toast. Its the first good breakfast I've had since I started biking, and I enjoyed it.

The first few miles getting out of the city were a bit hair raising, but soon after that I was on some quiet back roads.

I've been having a hard time identifying some of the towns I'm passing through. They aren't marked on my maps, and the signs are hard for me to understand.

What city is this?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Sometimes it's clear that I am entering a town, and the sign helps me out with a bit of English, but I'm still not sure of the name of the town.

What city is this?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Of course, the really big ones do get names I can read, but only in advance.

I'm headed toward Banphot Phisai.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped just before Banphot Phisai for a cold drink. I was suffering from the heat. The arm sleeves help some. I added a headband to stop the sweat from dripping into my eyes. I had the headband with me. It's part of my gear creep, things I add at the last minute that don't make it onto my gear list.

I bought a cold coke from this cook, but wasn't ready for food yet.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode on, through the highly anticipated but somewhat disappointing town of Banphot Phisai, and on through what appeared to be a farming area.

Farming
Heart 0 Comment 0
Corn!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Burning the field.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was following the Ping River, which runs through Chiang Mai. I must be getting closer! Most of the time the river was out of sight behind a built-up area, but the were sometimes good views.

The Ping River.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There were views in the other direction as well.

To the west.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The next major town enroute is Kamphaeng Phet. That would be about 80 miles for today, longer than I like to ride in the best of circumstances.

Hot!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I decided to call it a day at the major junction that's roughly the halfway point.

Well, crap. I just typed out a whole bunch of stuff about how I ended up at the love motel and how the facility pretty much sucks and the AC hadn't really cooled the room, but saying at least it had Wi-Fi. And then the Wi-Fi dropped and I lost my edits. Let's just say that a restaurant guy directed me to either the resort under the bridge or the hotel, and the resort was full.

Outside my room at the love motel. I hung up a laundry line after washing out my riding clothes.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Oh, I found out the name of the town I'm in is Khanu Woralaksaburi.

Today's total distance includes about 8 km of riding back into town for snacks and water.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 71 km (44 miles)
Total: 295 km (183 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0