To Uthai Thani - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

October 30, 2016

To Uthai Thani

I left the hotel about 7 am, again. It was already hot. The road out of town was busy, but I was able to escape to some smaller roads quickly. Not too much to say, other than it was really hot, and really flat. The highest temperature I noticed on my Garmin was 103.8 F. That's 40 C. Total elevation gain for the day was 64 feet. That compares with yesterday, which was 194 feet. I'm glad I'm not climbing yet in this heat.

I'll let the pictures tell today's story, except to say that I stopped at the first hotel coming into Uthai Thani. It's the Porjai Resort, 500 baht for a single, plus 100 key deposit. It's a nice place, with a clean AC room with a refrigerator. There is a swimming pool, which i suppose is what makes it a resort. My only complaint is that after I checked in, I used the bathroom and washed my hands, and then when I stripped down for a shower, the water was shut off. I got dressed and asked at reception. They told me "5 minutes", and indeed the water was back on in 5 minutes. I suppose I have a second complaint. That would be that the restaurant on site is not open today, and I'm not sure yet how far I need to go for dinner. This is, after all, the first place I found coming into town.

I think I'm ready for a shorter day tomorrow.

My first Amazon Cafe. I didn't actually buy anything there. I had already had a cold drink and enjoyed the AC in the 7-Eleven next door, when I spotted the coffee shop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I cycled past banana plantations.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At another gas station, they were sprucing up the gold paint on the sign in honor of the late king.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I rode past more Brahma cows.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And rode through an area where they seemed to sell a lot of plants.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped for lunch in a small town. This is the lady who cooked my fried rice.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road through the small towns was pretty quiet. This was not the route from either my Garmin or from maps.me. I just took the road closest to the river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It occasionally deteriorated, but only for short sections. Maybe it had flooded in the past.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Closer the Uthai Thani, the road got very busy. I stepped off the road to grab a picture of my bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I checked into a hotel as soon as I hit town. It advertised that it had a restaurant, but it was closed, maybe because it's Sunday. The other nearby restaurants were also closed. Some people at a nearby shop helped me out by getting the owner of one of the restaurants out, and he helped me by preparing some fried noodles for take-out, even though he wasn't open!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hotel is nice and fairly modern, but the back of my room looks out onto the neighbors. Note the entry to the second level! The front of my room looks out onto the swimming pool.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 84 km (52 miles)
Total: 177 km (110 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0