To Jomtien Beach - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

January 17, 2017

To Jomtien Beach

I left Rayong early, just as it was getting light, after an in-room breakfast of coffee and Knorr instant jok. My goal was to stay off of Sukhomvit Road. I did okay initially, following my GPS.

Leaving Rayong. There's a bike lane! Note the parking and the wrong way cyclist.
Heart 0 Comment 0

That is, until I reached a road construction project that completely closed the road I wanted. I ended up in a large industrial site, which wasn't very nice. Especially since it was raining hard.

Industrial park outside of Rayong. I ended up riding through it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was actually happy to get back on Sukhomvit, until I reached the town of Ban Chang, where I moved away from the coast, cutting across the peninsula toward Jomtien Beach, a sort of suburb of Pattaya, and the rain stopped. Ban Chang was a busy town. I stopped at a drink cart for some iced coffee, looped it over my handlebars, and went on.

Iced coffee preparation by the side of the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The route on 3376, then on 1003, went over a steep hill. Over the hill, I descended quickly and wondered what planet I had ended up on. I rode into a development called Silver Lake, with a water park, and European appearing housing. As I exited the development, I realized I must be in Thailand still, as a big Buddha appeared on a mountainside. This Buddha would be seen at the entry by people coming from Pattaya.

Water park in Silver Lake, enroute to Pattaya.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Silver Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Buddha on the mountain at Silver Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In Thailand???
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm at Rich Man Poor Man Guesthouse. Bike is outside, in the rain. 760 baht on Agoda, breakfast included. Wi-Fi is supposed to be available in-room, but isn't. Otherwise it's okay. The kitchen opens at 7 in the morning, but the "Agoda breakfast" isn't available until 8. That makes a late start for me, so I asked about getting it at 7. They said they'll accommodate me. We'll see.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 2,764 km (1,716 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0