Stay day in Mukdahan - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

December 18, 2016

Stay day in Mukdahan

It's such a luxury to sleep in, get up in the morning, have a leisurely breakfast, and not think about where I need to go, and about where I'll sleep tonight.

My room at the Riverfront Hotel. I had been lying on the bed and messed it up, so it looked neater when the bed was freshly made. Not in view is a desk and a refrigerator, and the television.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So I slept late, at least by my recent schedule, past 6 am. I had breakfast, which was included with the room at the hotel, and dawdled. It was a great breakfast and I overate. It was on the top floor of the hotel, with a great view over the river and into Laos. It's too bad the hotel doesn't operate a restaurant or even a coffee shop up there.

Breakfast view. The Riverfront Hotel in Mukdahan has a great breakfast.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I lulled about my room for a bit, and then walked to the Mukdahan tower. It was about a half an hour walk, but I wasn't hurrying. The tower is the #1 attraction in Mukdahan. It has some history and cultural information about the area, but also has a viewing room.

On the road toward the tower. I have been told that I can ride my bike to the Buddha, and that it's an 18 km ride. I didn't feel like doing that today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the tower, looking back toward town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are 8 unique tribes in the region. The costumes looked similar to me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Except when there is a farang face in one.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is a picture of a picture that was in the stairwell in the tower. Elephant roundup in Surin in 1955. Surin is about 200 km southwest of here.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I left the tower and wandered back to my hotel.

The tower, up close.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I passed through some of the IndoChinese Market.

Shopping in the lower part of the market. This area is below street level, under the river walk.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are some useful things at the market, but mostly it is just junk. Junk!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was still full from breakfast, and skipped lunch. I went back to the hotel, and tried watching a movie streaming Amazon video. I couldn't get it to work through the TV, which had a USB input, but it was fine on my tablet. Then the hotel staff came to clean my room, and I paused the movie. When I got back to it, Amazon had noticed I was not in the USA and wouldn't allow streaming. I was using a VPN that should have made it look like I was in California. I checked the IP address, and it did look like I was in CA. Then I read on line that Amazon blocks known IPs for VPN servers. Bummer. I wonder why it worked at all. I sent an inquiry to Expess VPN, and hope they'll have some advice.

I went out for an early dinner. The restaurant I chose is called "Wine Wild Why?" not far from the hotel. I had some deep fried veggies and shrimp. It was a nice change from rice or noodles. The restaurant doesn't actually serve wine, although apparently it did in the past and had a collection of wine bottles covering the counter. I know I was early for dinner, but I was the only one there. I ate outside on the river, and there was a nice breeze. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that that breeze will become a tailwind for me tomorrow.

The restaurant has 2 signs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0