Luang Prabang to Kasi: By bus. - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

December 6, 2016

Luang Prabang to Kasi: By bus.

Can I still call this a bike tour?

It's quite a road, and has redefined twisty and turny for me. Othercyclists have reported more than 2000 meters of climbing between Luang Prabang and Kasi. I believe it!

There is no Wi-Fi in Kasi, or at least that what the guest house owner told me. I bought a Lao SIM card yesterday. If this post shows up, then it's working.

Update:

I had read that there was just one guest house in Kasi, so when the bus driver dropped me within sight of one, I went and checked in. 60,000 kip for a fan room, ensuite bathroom with toilet (bucket flush), hot shower, and no sink. I brushed my teeth with bottled water over the toilet. The shower head was so clogged up it didn't work. I removed the head from the hose, and got hot water, but after I'd taken a cold bucket shower.

I had coffee at the guest house restaraunt. It was 20,000 kip for instant coffee. In Luang Prabang, instant coffee was 6000 or 8000 kip. I felt ripped off, and decided not to eat dinner here.

I went wandering through town. There isn't much here, but there are 2 other guest houses and both have Wi-Fi. I wouldn't recommend Phatmaly Guest House, where I am, especially if Wi-Fi is important.

I picked up a 10mm wrench to adjust the fenders on my bike. Every time it goes on a bus or other vehicle, the fender stays get bent and the fenders end up rubbing. I was able to fix the front fender with the wrench much more easily than by just bending the stays. I left my adjustable wrench in storage in Bangkok, which wasn't too smart.

There really isn't much in town. I tried to find some snacks for the ride tomorrow, and came back without anything. I hope I can find a good breakfast in the morning.

I met another cyclist in town. He took 2 days to ride from Luang Prabang. We had dinner together at his guest house. It was nice having some company and conversation over dinner. He's Tommy, also from Colorado, and a wildland firefighter. Interesting guy. He meditates, and we talked about meditation and the retreat.

I'll add a couple of pictures when I have Wi-Fi, rather than using my 3G data.

The 9:30 VIP bus to Vang Vieng. I'll get off in Kasi.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Quite a drive through the mountains of Laos.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My guest house in Kasi. Not recommended. There are others with Wi-Fi and nicer owners.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Traffic jam in Kasi.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 5 km (3 miles)
Total: 1,143 km (710 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0