Chiang Mai to Chiang Dao: Into the mountains - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

November 24, 2016

Chiang Mai to Chiang Dao: Into the mountains

I left Chiang Mai at about 7 am, before the guesthouse reception was open and before breakfast was available. I ate some papaya and mango that I'd purchased last night at the market, with some yogurt from the 7-Eleven.

The traffic leaving Chiang Mai was busy. I stayed on the main road, the 107, as it had a good shoulder and was the most direct route. Not too far along, I started seeing horses. I think this was the first I've seen them in Thailand.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Then there was a large, militaristic statue with a horse, do maybe that's something important to this part of Thailand.

This statue was inside a closed off construction area, so I didn't get close and read the placard, but it left me with the impression that horses are important in this part of Thailand.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped at a 7-Eleven, and rather than buying food inside the store, I bought a chicken drumstick from a food stall next to it. I figured I needed the protein, and it was fresh and delicious. As I left, I wished I had gotten more. When I came to the market in what I think was Mae Rim, I bought 2 more. These were fried in batter, and no where near as good as the first one which had something similar to barbeque sauce on it.

There was a pretty good hill after Mae Rim, but generally the road just rolled up and down today.

The mountains made a spectacular backdrop.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode past the Chiang Dao Elephant sanctuary and didn't stop. The elephant crossing sign is a little comical, in that there is a barrier on the road.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had decided to stop at a guesthouse near the main road, and not make the turn to the Chiang Dao Caves. The guesthouse was down a small dirt track, and when I arrived I was told that the owner had gone to Chiang Mai and not left anyone else there to handle check-in. It looked like food would be an issue, too, so I turned around and headed up to the caves. Going backward always hurts a little bit! But I'm glad I did. I'm staying at the Chiang Dao Huts, and it is beautiful! I sprang for a bungalow with attached bath (600 baht) as much for the convenience of the bathroom as for the beauty of the site.

Chiang Dao Huts
Heart 0 Comment 0
Backside of my bungalow.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old Town Bikes in Thailand.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My little bungalow, bike on the porch.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had an early dinner of fried rice at the restaurant across from the huts, and walked down to the entrance to the caves. I didn't go in, as it was too close to closing time, but I visited the Wat that is near the entrance, Wat Tham Chiang Dao. The setting is dramatic, and I was glad I visited. I will say that it has the largest group of stray dogs that I've encountered so far on this trip.

The Buddha at Wat Tham Chiang Dao.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The stupa at Wat Tham Chiang Dao.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wat philosophy. Last year I enjoyed the Eurovelo philosophy on the signs in Serbia. Now I have Wat philosophy in Thailand.
Heart 0 Comment 0

======

I saw very few other cyclists today, not even local riders.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 km (48 miles)
Total: 848 km (527 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0