Back to Bangkok: Train from Bang Phra - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

January 20, 2017

Back to Bangkok: Train from Bang Phra

I decided to take public transport back to Bangkok and avoid riding Sukhumvit road for the next day or two. I could try to take a bus from Chonburi, or I could catch a train right from Bang Phra. The bus requires negotiation with the driver, with some uncertainty as to whether there is space in the luggage compartment for the bike. The bike would not be an issue on the train, but there was only one train per day to Bangkok, and it left in the afternoon, arriving in Bangkok after dark. With Neil's encouragement, I opted for the train.

I bought my train ticket for 26 baht at the station, but the ticket agent wouldn't sell me a ticket for my bike. I thought he was being nice about it, but (hah!) I was wrong. There were a lot of people getting onto the train in Bang Phra. I had asked which track it would come on, and had been told to stay on this side. Everyone waited on this side, but the train came on the other side. I took my bike down and was wrestling it across the tracks when a teenage girl gave me a hand. It was quite a lift up onto the train, and my handlebars did not fit through the door. With some twisting and yanking and the help of a few teenage girls, we got it up. The train started moving, but my bike was blocking the door. An older guy asked me to put it by the sinks, and I ended up getting out my wrenches to loosen and turn the handlebars, and we got it in there. The conductor was standing watching all of this, and did not offer any help or suggestions. Then, once the bike was in place, he asked for 100 baht. Now, I've been okay with the conductors and bus drivers getting paid when they help move and secure the bike. This guy did nothing! I paid him the 100 baht, and tried to tell him I expected his help in unloading the bike when we reached Bangkok. Needless to say, that didn't happen.

There isn't much to say about the train ride. It was long and hot, and the train filled up so people were standimg in thevaisles. Some of the seats collapsed, and people just picked them up and sat down again. We arrived at Bangkok Central train station about 45 minutes late. Not too bad for a three hour train ride.

I found a hostel near the train station, 2W Bed and Breakfast. There were 2 of us in a dorm room for 6, although some people came in after we were sleeping, and decided not to stay with us. Maybe asking them to turn off the lights had some impact. I had been given an upper bunk, and the room light shined directly on me. But it was a comfortable and clean bed, and was generally quiet.

Today's ride: 2 km (1 miles)
Total: 2,812 km (1,746 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0