Ayutthaya to Singburi: By bike - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

October 29, 2016

Ayutthaya to Singburi: By bike

I left Ayutthaya at about 7 am. Almost immediately I ran into navigation problems, as my Garmin wanted to send me down a road that didn't exist. Then as I was trying to get to the road heading north, it tried to send me through a big locked gate! I was going to stop and take a picture of the gate, just for documentation, but there were a bunch of dogs sleeping by it. At least they looked like they were sleeping when I first spotted them. As I slowed down they got up and started barking at me. So no picture.

I did eventually find my way out of town, although briefly ended up on a busier road than I would have liked. When I abandoned the Garmin route for the maps.me route, the roads got nicer and more rural. It was a pretty nice day, with a brief sprinkle early, and plenty of heat later on. I got a bit sunburned. I stopped a few times to eat and use the restroom. I was running low on energy, but was revived after a stop for a good Pad Thai lunch.

I got a lot of "hello"s today, and other exclamations that I didn't quite understand. I shared the shoulder with the motorcycles, and several slowed down and rode alongside me for a bit. They didn't make conversation, but just sort of stared at me.

I stopped for the day in Singburi, which is a moderate sized city with a few hotels. I'm at the Baanbudsarin Apartment. It's a large apartment complex where they rent some rooms as a hotel. My room has AC, a bathroom with hot shower, and even a small refrigerator and a TV, all for 350 baht. There is a coin operated laundry available, which I took advantage of. It's close to the market, and I had some fried rice there, as well as some snacks from the 7-Eleven. I picked up some stuff for breakfast, and have put it into the fridge.

Not a bad first real day on the bike.

I stopped in Ang Thong at a gas station to use the restroom. There was a bus wash there, and I was impressed by the decorations on the buses.
Heart 0 Comment 0
By the side of the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
These shelters are common along the road, although today they all seemed to be on the other side. It seems like they might be bus stops. What ever they are, they're potential shelter from a storm or even just some shade for a break from riding.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 79 km (49 miles)
Total: 93 km (58 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0