04/94/24 I bought a backpack - south - CycleBlaze

April 4, 2024

04/94/24 I bought a backpack

Judging by the social media of other cyclists I’ve met on this trip, I’m really squandering my time in Antigua. There’s plenty to see and do, but I’m not feeling motivated.  I guess it’s because I’m not really traveling, I’m just riding my bike.  Hanging out and drinking coffee and beer in hip courtyards is all I wanted to do today, so that’s what I did. 

The view from my window. The rain never came and the skies never cleared and I’ve yet to see the volcanos that are Right Over There
Heart 0 Comment 0
I went to the market to find a backpack for tomorrow’s hike
Heart 1 Comment 0
This $8 Puma knock off will do. I don’t have the space to carry this on my bike so I’ll be giving it away when I’m done
Heart 1 Comment 0
The paper has a story about the troubles on the other side of the border
Heart 0 Comment 0
Read all about it in comfort. Not much detail, I don’t think there are many embedded reporters gathering facts
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretCoffee is a work of art :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
All over town are old churches damaged by earthquakes in colonial times
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
so many motorcycles
Heart 1 Comment 0
At my hotel as well
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretWhat is a nonstop banana?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I have to get up early tomorrow, the van to the volcano leaves at 6 am. I’m expecting to be denied a view, but I can’t be this close and not go. The month I spent on Pacaya when I was in college was one of those pivot points that defined my life’s trajectory. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0