04/28/24 Balbo’s, by the side of the road - south - CycleBlaze

April 28, 2024

04/28/24 Balbo’s, by the side of the road

legit climbing today
Heart 0 Comment 0

There is a palpable difference between Costa Rica and its northern neighbors. No chicken busses belching smoke and almost no litter has had an immediate and transformative effect on my state of mind.  That, and slightly cooler temperatures (low 90’s instead of high), left me feeling with miles left in my legs once I got to my original destination of La Cruz so I kept on going. I probably could have gone all the way to Liberia but it was looking like it might rain so I stopped at a hostel of sorts on the side of the road. No air conditioning but two fans, hopefully it’s enough. 

I think I have a package with my new kickstand and old camera waiting for me in Liberia. I’m looking forward to that. 

I popped down to the shores of Lake Nicaragua to snap a picture of Omotepe Island in the clouds
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking, and feeling, very tropical today
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretAnd..three dogs, to boot..
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Monkeys!
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were several in trees on both sides of the road
Heart 2 Comment 0
Trying to photograph the tufted birds I was seeing all morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is the best I could manage. With luck I’ll have a real camera tomorrow 🤞
Heart 3 Comment 1
The most jungly it’s felt so far
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was a straightforward border crossing
Heart 2 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraCongrats! Really enjoying following along.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
It rained briefly while I was getting processed through, leaving things slightly cooler but a bit soupy
Heart 0 Comment 0
For some reason took a picture of this and not the three mile long line of trailers that it’s here to serve. One of the drivers said it takes two days for the trucks to get across
Heart 0 Comment 0
Charging station ahead. I had just been thinking that it would be a challenge to drive this route in an EV
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dryer up in the “highlands”. Only 1,000 feet but I could feel the difference
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
No shoulder, but civilized drivers. Rumor is that it gets wider further south
Heart 0 Comment 0
Views from Balbo’s backyard
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretAnd one dog looking at the second one!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cooler on the patio with the hammocks than in my room
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m not the first cyclist to stop here
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 3,891 miles (6,262 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0