04/26/24 jaded in Granada - south - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2024

04/26/24 jaded in Granada

Heart 0 Comment 0

Granada is well on its way to becoming Nicaragua’s version of Antigua or San Cristobal de las Casas, namely a pretty colonial town where the center is owned by or leased to foreigners running businesses catering to the same. Here it seems to be mostly 20-something’s but there’s a large enough contingent of people who look like me as well, especially at my overpriced French owned hotel. I didn’t spend any time looking for best value for money, arriving tired and sweaty, but now that I’m showered and napped I kind of wished I had. I thought I might spend two nights here, but I’m already tired of being constantly accosted by English speaking entrepreneurs wanting to sell me souvenirs or zip line tours. 

I passed Volcán Masaya National Park, without ever seeing the volcano
Heart 0 Comment 0
The park is currently closed because the volcano is acting dangerously, off behind the trees or clouds or wherever it was
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretThe park may be closed to the public, but the eyes of the employees are open on you!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
But I was quite taken by the tree behind the sign and in front of the entrance
Heart 3 Comment 0
White beard tells me this must be God and not his son adorning the Masaya city traffic circle
Heart 0 Comment 0
A couple of playboys entering Granada
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of several quaint churches, full of kids in shorts and bikini tops
Heart 2 Comment 0
Feeling like I should be taking pictures of the quaintness but not really into things today. I didn’t sleep well last night, I think it’s showing
Heart 1 Comment 0
Resisting the gentrification
Heart 1 Comment 0
Watching America’s favorite pastime. The coach was quite the hard ass
Heart 2 Comment 0
Resisting the gentrification
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 3,791 miles (6,101 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0