04/01/24 Los Encuentros - south - CycleBlaze

April 1, 2024

04/01/24 Los Encuentros

Heart 0 Comment 0

My main impression from today was the terrible air quality. Visibility was for shit, the smell of wood smoke all too often tinged with plastic and a general toxicity. I’m destroying my old memories. I’m hoping that this is simply because it’s that time of year and not a general deterioration due to population growth and climate change. I haven’t had conversation with anyone old enough to remember the 70’s, but Edwin at the no name hotel I’m staying at remembers the 80’s and said it’s changed since them. But I don’t know if I trust Edwin, he paused far too long before quoting me 150 quetzals for my room. That’s the same $20 price I was paying in Huehuetenango for much better facilities (hot water and Wi-Fi, for starters). 

Visibility was so poor that I decided against turning off the highway for the 12% hill leading to the eco park where I hoped to camp with a view of Lake Atitlan.  I mostly wanted to see the lake to bump my Instagram cred and if I won’t be able to see it I don’t want to suffer the hill.  

The rides both  yesterday and today have not been nearly as difficult as I was fearing. I’m starting to wonder if perhaps my legs are stronger.

By chance I met Chris and Rhiannna, two UK cyclists I’ve bumped into 3 times previously on this trip. We started and ended in different locations but our routes briefly overlapped and we all happened to converge on the same town in time to have lunch together before going our separate ways. That was fun. 

Dormant Volcán Santa María seen on the climb out of San Cristobal. You can’t see it from this angle but behind it is the active volcano Volcán Santiaguito
Heart 2 Comment 0
You can’t see Santiaguito from here, but you know it’s there
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lots of interesting road cut geology today. I wish Al were here
Heart 1 Comment 0
I got questioned by the police about my plans and was offered a ride up the hill. I explained I was doing this on purpose, but thanks.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Chris and Rihana from the UK and on an open ended journey. We first met at the ferry terminal in La Paz, then outside Tepic and again last month in Oaxaca. It’s possible we’ll meet again
Heart 1 Comment 0
They continued onto Lake Atitlan and confirmed visibility was bad there as well. I feel no regret for skipping the lake
Heart 1 Comment 0
Women carrying firewood
Heart 1 Comment 0
The size of those loads!
Heart 0 Comment 0
9,800 feet and looking south at the Guatemalan Volcanic Arc. I am pretty sure there’s an awesome view behind those clouds
Heart 1 Comment 0
Trashing the environment
Heart 0 Comment 0
Add the smell of burning plastic and parts of today felt apocalyptic
Heart 2 Comment 0
I hold my breath through spots like this
Heart 0 Comment 0
I can’t see a damn thing
Heart 0 Comment 0
This building has a sign offering to buy diesel. I don’t know from whom, but I saw a build board advertising real time fuel theft detection technology
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’ll try to stop complaining about the air after this post.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My last chance to change my mind and head down to the lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Friendly children
Heart 3 Comment 0
I don’t know what this is and nobody was around to ask
Heart 1 Comment 0
More waves from children. Unlike the adults who usually stare without expression until I say hi and then they beam, children have not been shy
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
Heart 1 Comment 0
Vertical farming
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m enjoy the look of the little workshops than every town has on the side of the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
The first hotel I chose was full, the other had a plastic covered mattress and this one is all that’s left, next to the bus terminal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Edwin and I had beers and chatted after he overcharged me for my room. He confirmed my suspicion that all the housing construction I’m seeing is funded by money from working the US. He too mulls the question, should I stay or should I go?
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 3,147 miles (5,065 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0