03/07/24 Alvarado - south - CycleBlaze

March 7, 2024

03/07/24 Alvarado

Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a decent ride today, not too easy and not too hard. The difficulty came mostly from headwinds and rollers, so that’s no fun, but it really wasn’t bad. The trick is to leave real early and get the jump on the wind. It wasn’t too hot, but it got sticky and I was glad for a shower when the day was over. I expect more of the same for tomorrow. Nothing really interesting in my immediate path that I can see…

I followed the malecón out of town
Heart 1 Comment 0
A calm and pleasant morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sleepy Boca del Rio had exploded in the 47 years since I last was here, and introduced to pico del gallo for the first time
Heart 4 Comment 1
Robert BryceOh my, what a change
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Now all one could want for is found here
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Jamapa River, looking upstream
Heart 0 Comment 0
and at the mouth
Heart 0 Comment 0
Following in Cortez’s footsteps
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not a lot of scenery. This was typical, once I’d left the city
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of fruit stands
Heart 2 Comment 0
And ice cold fresh pineapple juice! I had two of these
Heart 1 Comment 0
Change of scenery as I ride the spit into Alvarado
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first choice hotel was up a steep hill, so I skipped it
Heart 1 Comment 0
Alvarado is a fisherman’s town
Heart 2 Comment 0
A cemetery I passed while looking for my hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tomorrow’s bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0
Where I’m staying
Heart 1 Comment 0
Where I had enchipotleado shrimp
Heart 1 Comment 0
The view from dinner
Heart 1 Comment 0
The view from dinner
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 2,447 miles (3,938 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0