01/23.24 Guanajuato, wow! - south - CycleBlaze

January 23, 2024

01/23.24 Guanajuato, wow!

Heart 1 Comment 0

It was an easy meander along mostly back roads and one long tunnel to get to Guanajuato proper, and I must say I’ve never seen a town like this. I don’t know where to start. It’s vertical, it’s full of the most amazing buildings connected by narrow streets, and even narrower alleys and it’s absolutely buzzing with energy. It’s a tourist town for sure, but it’s also a college town.  Today’s the second day of classes for the University of Guanajuato and the streets are packed with students.  Countless cafes and restaurants, shops with tourist stuff, shops with regular stuff, shops with fancy stuff, museums and art galleries. I found it busy during the day and even busier at night, the streets absolutely packed, musicians on every corner. And this is the off season, I cannot imagine it at peak season. I found an amazing deal of a hotel in the middle of it all at only $28 per night and just far enough from the action that with my fan on I can’t hear the street noise. 

Following the “old road” along the river and avoiding the busy highway that leads into the city
Heart 2 Comment 0
Many fancy homes along this road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Getting into Guanajuato proper
Heart 2 Comment 0
Taking a tunnel to the historic center
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was worried about taking the tunnel but found it well lit and with enough room for both me and the cars
Heart 3 Comment 0
There is an underground network of roads and walkways, which I’ve not explored save for my entrance
Heart 2 Comment 4
Judy GaukelAmazing! Are there any pedestrians in the tunnels?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezNot many, but yes. There’s decent sidewalk. It was seeing a pedestrian emerge that removed my reluctance to enter. It’s a three dimensional road network
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Karen PoretTo David ChavezVery interesting! I wonder what the accident rate is for this split tunnel!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezThe traffic in the tunnels and on the streets is all one-way, so I imagine that helps.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Exiting the tunnel into the middle of the historic center
Heart 2 Comment 0
My hotel is the narrow yellow building in the back. I’m in the white room at the top.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The view from my window
Heart 3 Comment 0
My bike is on the ground floor, in a cage behind the front desk
Heart 3 Comment 0
I walked up to the monument overlooking the city through a maze of little alleys
Heart 3 Comment 0
So pretty
Heart 3 Comment 0
The sign says “Tired? Nooo, this is not the way”
Heart 4 Comment 0
This is the way. Residents have to carry Everything by hand
Heart 3 Comment 0
Water delivery
Heart 1 Comment 0
At the top
Heart 5 Comment 0
It’s a popular spot
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was there
Heart 5 Comment 0
El Pipila, monument to a hero of the war of independence from Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
I took the funicular down
Heart 3 Comment 0
I wandered aimlessly, every street a thing of beauty
Heart 4 Comment 0
An alley leading to one of the subterranean passages
Heart 4 Comment 0
Plaza de la Paz
Heart 3 Comment 0
Basilica Colegiata de Nuestra Senora
Heart 4 Comment 0
I took a lot of pictures
Heart 2 Comment 0
The famous Callejon del Beso (Kissing Alley) with its legend of ill fated lovers
Heart 3 Comment 0
For a fee, couples can recreate the scene and receive a framed souvenir
Heart 2 Comment 0
Modern optimists leaving their mark in the alley
Heart 1 Comment 0
I took a lot of pictures
Heart 2 Comment 0
Diego Rivera’s birthplace
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
I took a lot of pictures
Heart 2 Comment 0
The central market, designed by Mr. Eiffel
Heart 2 Comment 0
The market is mostly tourist kitsch and food spots now
Heart 2 Comment 0
Echos of the Alhambra
Heart 2 Comment 0
Steep streets. I got a workout today
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another entrance to the underground passages
Heart 2 Comment 2
Karen PoretIt seems clean enough and graffiti free..is this an accurate statement?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezCompared to other towns I’ve been to, yes. But it’s still definitely a Mexican town so there’s still some litter, flies in the bakeries, etc
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Teatro Juárez is a popular spot to hang out
Heart 3 Comment 0
Teatro Juárez at night, even more popular. No shows now, but come October the town doubles in size with international performances
Heart 0 Comment 0
The basilica at night
Heart 3 Comment 0
The University of Guanajuato main building, there are other facilities scattered about
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another view
Heart 1 Comment 0
A random shop
Heart 1 Comment 0
I took a lot of pictures
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 6 miles (10 km)
Total: 1,509 miles (2,429 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0