Rolling to a Stop - So SLO - CycleBlaze

October 5, 2014

Rolling to a Stop

Morro Bay to San Luis Obispo

Last day! Just as I was getting this touring schtick down…

Only 15 or so miles today so a leisurely morning around camp, breakfasting with Tony, then moving over to visit with Donald and his friend whose name I didn’t get, a pair of experienced touring cyclists who were doing an overnight from Arroyo Grande. We drank coffee and told stories. Tony was planning a 100 mile day to get to Refugio state beach, then a shorter day home to Ventura. Donald and friend were heading home. We wished each other well and went our separate ways.

I needed a real breakfast and stopped in Los Osos for an approximation of such at my first sbux since Carmel. It was heaven. Real coffee. Power to charge my dying phone. Wifi. “Food.” Restrooms. And, get this — AIR CONDITIONING! Hallelujah! I spent a long time there catching up with my online life and writing my journal. I actually started to feel slightly chilly. I got a text from my sister Susan which made me realize I better make tracks if I wasn’t to keep her waiting too long for me in SLO. She was driving my car down to pick me up.

Off we go into the heat. So what else is new. Road was pretty well trafficked but the shoulder was wide and recently resurfaced. I must say the roadie population about SLO is very friendly — got lots of waves and bell dingings. Either side of the road there was a lot of agricultural life happening. I also saw a pair of immature golden eagles check me out then soar way up out of sight on the thermals. As I got closer to town a car pulled up and for reasons of its own parked just ahead of me in the bike lane. The driver got out and then said, “I hope I didn’t block your way.” Of course not. I just had to move out into the traffic lane to get around you because you PARKED IN THE BIKE LANE near a no parking in bike lane sign. Sheesh.

So into town with traffic lights and college kids. I rolled into the back of the mission right at 1:00 p.m. and parked in the shade of the grape arbor. I got up, turned around and saw my car drive into the parking lot. Sis! We moved to the front of the mission for the photo op. Susan pulled out a split of prosecco and we shared a toast. Thus the So SLO Tour rolled to a stop.

We chilled at the hotel then found that downtown SLO restaurants also do not believe in air conditioning.

Tony and his jury-rigged tent set-up. He forgot his tent poles for the first time in his long touring life. We first met at Big Sur, then again at Plaskett Creek and Morro Bay.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Continuing the great portrait work, here are hiker biker neighbors Donald and his friend whose name I didn't get. Very experienced bike tourists on an overnight from Arroyo Grande.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Start on the road of day 8, off to SLO.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Along the marsh of Morro Bay.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back through the marsh at high tide towards the mouth of the bay. State park campground was back in the eucalyptus on the right.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Frigging sand dunes. Always mean short steep climbs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Off Foothill Road outside SLO.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bishop Peak in the background.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Black dots are bison on Madonna Ranch.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Grape arbor at Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Made it!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Home the next day with sister Susan.
Heart 1 Comment 0
That BJ, always making signs for my bike trips.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 16 miles (26 km)
Total: 206 miles (332 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0