Rest Day - So SLO - CycleBlaze

October 1, 2014

Rest Day

Rest day. It was lovely.

The boys from the campground had me laughing all morning. First we congregated around the table near Matt and Chris's tents while everyone cooked breakfast. Julian apologized for coming in so late (he had to set up his tent and he also cooked a meal in the dark). There was a hiker who showed sometime in the dark. It seemed he only had a sleeping bag, garbage bag and skateboard. He was young, late teens maybe. I talked to him later. He'd been going around the campground scrounging for cigarettes but all he could find was a bunch of butts, which he showed me. He was heading north and seemed to be on his own in the world.

As people started leaving I made my way to the lodge for a real breakfast. I was finishing there when Matt, Chuck and Tony arrived for their second breakfast so I sat with them until they departed. Then I did chores, walked around the redwoods, ate, moved my food to the food boxes because the squirrels were getting a little friendly with my tent, tried to hide from the annoying little black flies that like to buzz your face and ears.

Around 2 p.m. the first other cyclist arrived. We looked at each other, then I said, "Nick!" and he said, "Kathleen!" It was my old buddy Nick who I met on the way to Monterey day before yesterday. He'd spent two nights there. I had sent him the photos I took of him and he was very appreciative.

I spent a lot of the day in the lodge, which I felt a little guilty about. I thought I should be hanging out with my fellow cyclists as they arrived in the campground. But I needed to get out of the heat, use some wifi, read, doze, and eat dinner. Watched some of the Giants game as they beat up on the poor Nationals. Nick was there at the bar holding forth with the other Giants fans. It turned out that Nick and I were the only people in the hiker bikers tonight. So much for feeling guilty.

Laundry chores.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Above my tent in the hiker biker sites.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oh, just somewhere in the forest.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0