Introduction - So SLO - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2014

Introduction

Jittery. That's how I feel. Tomorrow I start my first more-than-an-overnight unsupported tour in 30 years. About 8 days, leaving from my home and heading towards San Luis Obispo along the Pacific Coast. SLO is an arbitrary ending, but it makes a good week-long tour. If I don't make it that far, that's okay. I might linger in Cayucos or Morro Bay. It's all good.

Given the adventures I've had over my life, and the gazillion journals I've read on this site, I thought I'd be pretty prepared for this jaunt. Yet I'm surprisingly nervous tonight. Excited. Just like everyone else first going out. Whaddya know.

I'm riding my recumbent trike named Pokey. Together we go very slowly, but we get where we want to go. I bought her to do long tours, and now I'm finally trying her out. I borrowed a tent and a sleeping bag from my brother. I'm toting my 3.5 inch REI "camp bed" Therm-a-rest knockoff. I'm using my commuter panniers. Only taking my iPhone for camera and communications.

Because of that, I'll be sending only quick updates each day that I have connectivity (and a charge on my phone). After the tour I'll come back and fill in the days more thoroughly. To follow me live you'd do best to follow me on Twitter at @kleen or twitter.com/kleen because I plan to tweet as I go along.

Thanks to all my friends who looked askance at me when I told them about this ride ("By yourself?!"), thanks to my sister who's driving down to SLO to pick me up at the end, thanks to everyone who's written a journal here for inspiring me (shout out to Myrtle the Turtle and Sylvia Halpern) but thanks especially to my beautiful wife BJ who helps make dreams like this come true.

Collecting stuff.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0