To Reims - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2022

To Reims

I've spent the past week in Paris entertaining family visitors and now that they've left it’s now high time I turned my attention to finishing up my Cathedral Tour – especially as I will soon be off on another short tour.

 Now where was I - oh yes, on the road to Reims. 

It was predicted to be another hot day, with temperatures even higher than yesterday. In consideration of the heat, I’d plotted a route to Reims that minimized changes in elevation, thinking that a slightly longer, flatter route would make for a shorter day in the blistering heat. It may have been faster, but by the end of the day I regretted my choice and yearned for the undulating but shaded terrain to my west. 

The day started promising enough, as I descended from Laon and traveled east along tree-lined roads that took me through a number of small towns of the Ainse department. There was not a lot to see, save the occasional cow or church, but I did pass a large German Memorial Cemetery that reminded me yet again of the bloody history of northern France.

Wonderful morning cycling along quiet tree-lined roads
Heart 6 Comment 0
Cow picture for the day
Heart 6 Comment 1
Église Notre-Dame de Bruyères-et-Montbérault in Bruyères-et-Montbérault, pop.1,532 (2015)
Heart 4 Comment 0
Eglise Paroissiale Parfondru in Parfondru, pop 355 (2019)
Heart 2 Comment 0
This must be the long-term parking lot
Heart 8 Comment 0
Église Mauregny in Mauregny-en-Haye, pop. 409 (2019)
Heart 2 Comment 0
German Military Cemetery located on an isolated stretch of road between Mauregny and Montaigu. A plaque indicates 7,192 German soldiers are interred here. From the little information I found on web, the site has an underground chapel and the names of those buried here. But all was quiet today and the gate was locked.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Église Saint-Pierre-et-Saint-Paul de Montaigu in Montaigu, pop. 763 (2019)
Heart 2 Comment 0

After about twenty miles of enjoyable cycling, I dropped down into an agricultural plain of expansive fields and tall silos. As I crossed under the autoroute and turned south for Reims, the temperatures rose and the landscape became dry and forlorn. I passed through a series of seemingly empty towns in a vain search of a cold beverage. I had high hopes when I rolled into Villeneuve-sur-Aisne at lunchtime – my timing was right and it was one of the larger towns on today’s route. I was so astounded to find both the Carrefour and the Tabac shuttered tight that I actually Googled to see if this was some obscure French holy day – but no, it was just August in France.

Cathedral to Agriculture, near Amifontaine
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith AdamsHow'd you get to western Kansas and back so fast?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Eglise d'Amifontaine in Amifontaine, pop. 413 (2015)
Heart 4 Comment 0
The dry expanse seemed a bit like eastern Colorado
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Eglise Saint Pierre in Villeneuve-sur-Aisne, pop. 2,751 (2019)
Heart 6 Comment 0
Even the local Tabac was shuttered in the middle of this hot August day.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith AdamsFrance is on vacation.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

After leaving Villeneuve-sur-Aisne, I crossed the Aisne River and continued south through an arid landscape that was sorely in need of rain. I also was thirsty – nothing near critical but I was craving a cold carbonated beverage. I got a water refill at cemetery outside Berméricourt, and shortly thereafter passed an open bar adjacent to the La Loivre Canalway where I purchased a cold coke and enjoyed the long cold drink while sitting on the edge of the canal watching fish circle in the waters below.

Crossing the Aisne River at Villeneuve-sur-Aisne
Heart 8 Comment 0
Église Saint-Maurice d'Aguilcourt in Aguilcourt, pop. 398 (2015)
Heart 3 Comment 0
Thirsty sunflowers
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
This deer emerged from the field of sunflowers....
Heart 4 Comment 0
...stopped in the middle of the road to stare me down...
Heart 6 Comment 0
...and then bounded off across the field, slowing to a walk before entering the woods at the edge of the field. She had a noticeable limp, similar to a deer I'd seen yesterday. I don't know what was more improbable - that it was the same deer, or that there were two individuals with the same distinctive limp. The third possibility was a case of heat-induced hallucination
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonGreat photos of the deer!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Eglise d'Orainville in Orainville, pop. 519 (2015)
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Water refill at a cemetery outside Berméricourt
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sitting canal-side and enjoying a cold drink before the last stretch into Reims
Heart 2 Comment 0

A short two-mile stretch along the La Loivre Canalway led me to D966, one the larger, high-traffic departmental roads that I generally try to avoid. The traffic was moderate but steady, and after a few miles I was traveling through the streets of Reims towards my hotel. Only it wasn’t my hotel. There I stood, slack-jawed with sweat dripping down my face as it slowly sunk in that I had mistakenly entered the wrong hotel into RWGPS. I corrected the mistake, got back on Vivien George, and we made our way to our booked lodging. I collapsed on the bed, finding a bit of relief in the slightly cool room. Eventually I rose, showered and headed out on the town where I enjoyed an early dinner of burger, fries and a chocolate shake. Then it was off to visit the cathedral before turning in for the night.

The last half of this route is one I would not recommend
Heart 0 Comment 0

My cathedral tour has come to an end. It was my first themed tour and I rate it an overall success – the cathedrals were magnificent, even for someone who eschews ornateness. I did not spend enough time in each city to give a full report, but most had an established historical area and  thriving restaurant scene. It is an area of France that may not get a lot of touring cyclists, but it is an area rich in history with a wonderful network of small roads and canalways. No doubt it would be more enjoyable if France were not in the midst of a drought and heat wave – perhaps a spring or fall visit would be best.

Heading back to Paris to welcome family visitors
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 2,137 miles (3,439 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat a hard day! I’ll bet your glad to be back in Paris where you aren’t forced to go out in the heat!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago