Verteuil-sur-Charente - Stress-free Cycling the French Countryside - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2019

Verteuil-sur-Charente

Another blue-sky day with temperatures rising.  I crossed the Vienne River and headed east toward the Charente River.  The day featured some of my favorites for cycling – small roads through a rolling landscape of farms and woodlands. The hills were softer, more rounded than in previous days, and the farm fields more expansive. Passing standing corn and distant windmills reminded me a bit of Iowa.

Leaving Confolens and the Vienne River
Heart 2 Comment 0
Vienne River to the north
Heart 0 Comment 0
Vienne River to the south
Heart 1 Comment 0
Small roads and Limousin cattle
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back toward Ambernac
Heart 1 Comment 0
Long roads with nary a car or truck
Heart 1 Comment 0
Corn, and windmills in the far distance, - almost like home
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I did not have far to go, so took my time enjoying the day and the French countryside. I did a large detour around Champagne-Mouton looking for an interesting place to eat, eventually settling on day old bread and Château cheese. I passed near the town of Nanteuil -en- Vallée, stopping at the turn-off to contemplate the merits of a short side trip. I soon realized what I was here for, and turned toward town. It is a delightful village, actually on of France’s “Small Town of Character”. I passed two restaurants in the full swing of lunch service, and regretted that I had already consumed my tired lunch. The town has interesting structures and a nice ancient Abbey Notre Dame, which was closed to visitors. Heading back down to my route, I reminded myself that little side trips often provide unexpected moments of joy in the day’s journey.

Lunch stop in Champagne-Mouton
Heart 1 Comment 0
Should I take the side trip to Nanteuil -en- Vallée, or keep going
Heart 1 Comment 0
Take the side trip, you might find something interesting
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Abbey Notre Dame
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived in Verteuil-sur-Charente a little early and found that my room was ready - yeah! The accommodations were wonderful – a well-appointed room with facilities for washing clothes and a terrace out back for relaxing while the aforesaid clothes washed. I decided to skip the visit the Château de Verteuil, which is a dominating feature of this lovely town. Instead, I lounged, work on the journal, and watched my clothes dry in the late afternoon sun. I walked into town to eat a place recommended by my host. It was fabulous  - raw oysters from the coast of France (I’m a fan) and guinea fowl stuffed with sausage and chestnuts with roast vegetables and an unbelievable red wine sauce. The meal capped off a most enjoyable day, one filled with comforting landscapes, clean clothes and little surprises. 

On my way to dinner in Verteuil-sur-Charente
Heart 1 Comment 0
A partial view of the Château de Verteuil overlooking the town
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 177 miles (285 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0