Saint-Bris-des-Bois - Stress-free Cycling the French Countryside - CycleBlaze

September 24, 2019

Saint-Bris-des-Bois

This morning started with an beautiful and bountiful breakfast – and I was able to enjoy it all the more as I had not gone out last night for pizza or kabob. On entering the breakfast room, the first thing that hit me was the visual space - a glass-enclosed porch looking onto an outdoor terrace and large walled garden, or yard. Then, there are the small, thoughtful touches such purple accents in the flowers and the napkins, or crocheted sleeves for your silverware. The buffet included a diverse selection of fresh fruit, eggs, ham, cheese, granola, and a variety of breads, jams and teas. After pouring me coffee, Patrick said he would bring me a sweet treat – a waffle with confectioner’s sugar and fromage blanc with blueberry. I did not hold back – sampling a bit of everything. After all, it was raining again today and I needed fortification!

A lovely spot for breakfast
Heart 3 Comment 0
The spread
Heart 2 Comment 0
My table - not shown is my already eaten granola and yogurt
Heart 1 Comment 0

The rain was predicted to stop around mid-morning, but it was still fairly steady when I left around 10:30. But by the time I’d visited the bakery and butcher, the rain had lightened up and I shed some of my gear. However, the on-again/off-again showers continued for the next few hours. In addition to the rain, there was a brisk wind from the southwest – mostly cross-winds but a fair amount of headwinds, especially starting out. With temperatures staying in the 60s, it was not a day for long rest stops enjoying croissants. Some hills began to appear as I headed away from the coast – those small rounded ones that make for interesting vistas. Numerous windmills were spinning away, taking advantage of this blustery day. 

All the crops seemed a little bit happy after 24 hours of rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sky may be lightening
Heart 0 Comment 0
But more dark clouds come in from the southwest
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Welcome to Tonnay Boutonne
Heart 1 Comment 0
There was a fleeting moment when these trees cast a shadow on the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some blue sky!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
More and more vineyards as I move away from the coast
Heart 1 Comment 0
There is blue sky in front of me and some sun behind me
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sad bales of hay - and they've lost their purple twine
Heart 0 Comment 0

About 1:30, I stopped in Saint-Hilaire-de-Villefranch for a real French lunch, wanting to be inside for a while and have something warm to eat. It was a great decision – a hearty meal of tomato salad and pork in mustard seed sauce with carrots. The waitress was quite interested in my story, and was wanting me to eat more so I would be strong enough for the journey. The sun had come out by the time I finished lunch and it was only about eight miles to my hotel in Saint-Bris-des-Bois, a small village not far from Sainte. I was on a fairly busy road for the first four miles – lots of traffic headed for Sainte. The last stretch on very small roads wound through small communes of only a few houses and took me past a large apple orchard where harvest was underway. Then it was a downhill ride through the woods into Saint-Bris-des-Bois.

Restaurant Le Centre lunch stop in Saint-Hilaire-de Villefranch
Heart 0 Comment 0
Blue skies and vines
Heart 1 Comment 0
Apples!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The harvest bins are lined up and ready to for fruit
Heart 0 Comment 0
Harvesting the apples
Heart 0 Comment 0

My lodging for the evening is a small, two-star hotel run by the Tabac next door – I am quite sure my breakfast tomorrow won’t have the quite the same style and substance as the one this morning. Nonetheless, the manager at the Tabac warmly welcomed by name, took great care of my bike, carried my bags upstairs, and later came by to tell me that the only restaurant in town was closed for dinner so I best go to the Vival around the corner to get some food. No worries, I have my demi-baguette and ham I bought this morning. And some beignet’s I picked up at the bakery during my walk around town. I'm all set and looking forward to another interesting day on the bike in France. I hear there might be rain!

Saint-Bris-des-Bois
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cemetery and Church
Heart 1 Comment 0
Eglise Saint Bris-des-Bois
Heart 1 Comment 0
A splendid vegetable garden
Heart 1 Comment 0
Love the lavender shutters
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 486 miles (782 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0