Ile de Ré - Stress-free Cycling the French Countryside - CycleBlaze

September 19, 2019

Ile de Ré

What a day – a day filled with colors. The colors of the sky, sea, boats, and buildings. And a day of wind. It was marvelous!

 I stopped by the market on the way out of Rochefort, bade farewell to the frigate L’Hermione, and headed to the ocean on La Vélodysséé. There was a stiff breeze of ~22 mph out of the northeast – with headwinds and crosswinds dominating the day.  The flat terrain and wind was quite familiar to me, a cyclist based in Iowa where one never sets out for a ride without first checking the wind speed and direction. I put my head down, found the proper gear, and was pleasantly surprised when a turn in the road resulted in a brief tail wind.

Market in Rochefort
Heart 1 Comment 0
In 1780, the frigate L'Hermione transported General Lafayette to America to support us in the American Revolutionary War
Heart 0 Comment 0
Onward to La Rochelle
Heart 0 Comment 0
A bit of wind today. From the condition of the flags, windy days are likely fairly common
Heart 0 Comment 0

The route followed the Charente River for about 6 miles before turning inland, where it then paralleled some fairly busy roads. I was reminded of Ask Dr. Science, a daily NPR radio sketch that was produced by a comedy group, Duck's Breath Mystery Theater, out of Iowa City. In response to a listener’s question “What is a frontage road,” Dr. Science replied that it is a road named after the famous French explorer Pierre Frontage, who followed Louis and Clark across America, but always slower and a little to the side. I enjoyed cycling the frontage roads of La Vélodysséé, exceedingly glad not to be on a narrow shoulder as cars and trucks whizzed past me.

As I was ruminating about the fictional Pierre Frontage and genuine French explorers, the route took two quick turns to the left and suddenly I was at the ocean! Cycling past the seaside villages of Les Boucholeurs, Chatelaillon-Plage, Angoulins, and Les Minimes was exhilarating and heightened all my senses. Walking along the quai at Les Boucholeurs, I was enchanted by varied light and color - the sun sparkling on the water and the washed-out pastels of seaside homes. La Rochelle burst forth in technicolor – and several times I was forced to pause and try to take it all in. Alas, I was just passing through on my way to Ile de Ré. However, the vibrancy of the La Rochelle is etched in my soul and I am certain that one day I will return to more fully enjoy this city.

On the frontage road of La Vélodysséé, to the side and a little slower
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oyster farming in Les Boucholeurs
Heart 2 Comment 0
Les Boucholeurs
Heart 0 Comment 0
Les Boucholeurs
Heart 2 Comment 0
Les Boucholeurs
Heart 1 Comment 0
Les Boucholeurs
Heart 0 Comment 0
La Rochelle
Heart 0 Comment 0
La Rochelle
Heart 1 Comment 0
La Globe de la Francophonie, depicting all the French-speaking countries in the world
Heart 0 Comment 0
La Rochelle
Heart 2 Comment 0
La Rochelle
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I noted in my earlier journal, Melo Vélo Meanderings, I am not a fan of bridges. Therefore, I was a bit apprehensive about crossing the 1.8 mile bridge to the island of Ile de Ré. Especially as it was a quite windy day. To my relief, there was a separated bike lane of ample width and sufficiently high sides. I must admit that when passing cyclists coming toward me from the opposite direction, I tensed up and avoided all eye contact. I had booked three nights at an Airbnb in Sainte-Marie, a quieter village located toward the southeast end of the island. My plan was to spend some time exploring the island, walking on the beach, and getting a little rest. My hostess Dominique showed me around the apartment, which was located on the first floor of her house. She then took me on a path through the vineyards to the beach. I’d been here for only two hours, yet I was certain that heeding the call of the sea, and the advice of others, was one of the best decisions of the tour to date.  

Bridge to Ile de Ré
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dominique, my hostess and beach guide
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 359 miles (578 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0