Confolens - Stress-free Cycling the French Countryside - CycleBlaze

September 13, 2019

Confolens

The cycling club was getting ready to hit the road as I came down for breakfast. Chatting them up a bit, I learned they are on a five-day road trip with support vehicle and some wives. I bid them bon route and, after a more leisurely morning, I was on my way at just past 10 am. It was another beautiful day, a cloudless blue sky with temperatures predicted in the high 80’s. It was just a five mile ride to Orador-sur-Glane, so I arrived at the memorial site before large contingents of visitors. My experiences at the memorial will be in a separate post.

After leaving the memorial, I rode through the new town of Orador-sur-Glane and picked up a baguette and a couple of small pastries. I found a nice picnic area in town for lunch and then was on my way to Confolens. The route was one of rollers and very light traffic, and generally downhill after crossing back into the Charente. The landscape became more agricultural, and I could hear sheep calling from adjacent pastures. It became quite hot toward mid-afternoon and I stopped in several wonderful little villages along the way – Saint-Christophe for ice cream and Orangina, and Lesterps for photos. 

And they're off - to Périgueux
Heart 1 Comment 0
A brilliant blue sky day
Heart 1 Comment 0
From here, it's almost all downhill to Confolens
Heart 1 Comment 0
I hear the sheep, but can't spot one
Heart 0 Comment 0
Time for ice cream and Orangina
Heart 0 Comment 0
Church in Saint-Christophe
Heart 0 Comment 0
And the church in Lesterps
Heart 0 Comment 0
Church courtyard in Lesterps
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice shady spot for Vivien George and Vincent
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived at my chambre de hôtes in Confolens at four. After cleaning up, I spent a relaxing hour in the riverside garden visiting with Calvin, the husband of the innkeeper Davina. I wandered a bit around this lovely town along the Vienne River, and spoke with a cute young couple who wanted to know the time. After exchanging photos, I found a sidewalk Asian restaurant for dinner. The place was run by and Englishman – and each of the other three tables at the restaurant spoke English. There seem to be a large number of people from England in the Charente, many of whom own houses. I explored a little more of the town before calling it a day. A what a memorable day it was. 

Relaxing along the Vienne River in the garden of my Confolens chambre de hôtes
Heart 3 Comment 0
Calvin certainly knows how to relax
Heart 1 Comment 0
Young couple on the banks of the Vienne River
Heart 2 Comment 0
Feeling relaxed after a memorable day
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Vienne River at Confolens
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Walking through Confolens after dinner
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from my bathroom window
Heart 1 Comment 0

I arrived at my chambre de hôtes in Confolens at four. After cleaning up, I spent a relaxing hour in the riverside garden visiting with Calvin, the husband of the innkeeper Davina. I wandered a bit around this lovely town along the Vienne River, and spoke with a cute young couple who wanted to know the time. After exchanging photos, I found a sidewalk Asian restaurant for dinner. The place was run by and Englishman – and each of the other three tables at the restaurant spoke English. There seem to be a large number of people from England in the Charente, many of whom own houses. I explored a little more of the town before calling it a day. There was a little excitement back in my room when a small bird flew in the window. I thought it was a bat, but Davina told me later it was probably a swallow.  It flew around and around the room, and I could find nothing to send it on it's way. Finally, I turned out the lights, opened the windows as wide as possible and off it went. And then it was lights out for me. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 147 miles (237 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0