Brantôme - Stress-free Cycling the French Countryside - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2019

Brantôme

Looking out my window early this morning it seemed as if the weather could go either way – sunshine and blue skies, or dark clouds and rain. The prediction was for rain in the afternoon, so once again I wanted an early start. Before heading out at 9 am, I sent a message to the Chambre d’Hote in Brantôme to see if I might check-in early. Traveling on small roads, the landscape was similar to yesterday, but the rolling hills became a bit higher and steeper as I moved east. Just past Saint-Séverin, I left the Charente and entered the Dordogne, where it promptly began to rain. I sought shelter under the roof of a roadside building that, to my surprise, was a small country restaurant. Even more amazing – it was open! Donning rain gear and downing an espresso, I checked my email and learned that I had an early check window between 1-2 pm. That seemed achievable, as long as I didn’t dawdle about. 

Rain or sunshine today? Or a little bit of both?
Heart 0 Comment 0
The optimist in me sees rays of light on the horizon; the pessimist sees sheets of rain
Heart 2 Comment 0
The rolling landscape
Heart 2 Comment 0
Re-entering Dordogne
Heart 1 Comment 0

The rain ceased, but the sky still threatened. I rolled up and down the hills, so intent on reaching Brantôme that I passed through Verteillac without stopping for a little snack and rest break. Eventually realizing I needed some type food and a short rest, I parked Vivien George at the side of a farmhouse and had my morning croissant standing up. After the last hill, the route dipped down to the Dronne, crossing the river near Bourdeilles before heading north along the river. My head was spinning as I entered through the “gates” of Brantôme, passing the magnificent Abbey, and marveling at this town built on an island in the river. However, I was intent on reaching my final destination. I arrived at the Chambre d’Hote at 1:15, got clean and dry and was lunching on cheese and bread in my room as the rains started up again. I spent the afternoon resting and journaling, finally venturing out to explore this rather unique village during the hour before dinner.

Village and cemetery
Heart 1 Comment 0
The steeple of Verteillac
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rest and croissant stop
Heart 3 Comment 0
Riding along one ridgetop...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...then winding down and, eventually, up another
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering Vivien George's favorite village in France
Heart 2 Comment 0
It was here that I took a rest break on the way to Périgueux on last years tour
Heart 1 Comment 0
Approaching Bourdeilles
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bourdeilles castle
Heart 1 Comment 0
Entering Brantôme through the Tour Saint-Roch and Pavillion Renaissance. These formed a portion of the defenses of the Brantôme Abbey, which is straight ahead
Heart 1 Comment 0

The most dominant and historically significant feature of Brantôme is the Benedictine Abbey of Brantôme, originally built my monks who lived in the many caves adjacent to the abbey. Founded in 769 by Charlemagne, the abbey is said to have contained relics of Saint Sicaire, one of the Innocent Saints. The presence of relics attracted pilgrims, and today the abbey lies on one of the pilgrim routes to Santiago de Compostela. The town itself is located primarily on an island encircled by the Dronne River. This setting - replete with botanical gardens, caves, and limestone cliffs - is quite extraordinary. There were relatively few tourists strolling about on this damp cool night in late September, adding to my appreciation of a truly charming and historic village. 

Brantôme Abbey
Heart 4 Comment 0
The church belfry was built in the 11th century - making it one of the oldest now found in France
Heart 2 Comment 0
Brantôme Abbey
Heart 3 Comment 0
The island village of Brantôme
Heart 3 Comment 0
The island village of Brantôme
Heart 4 Comment 0
Building at the bottom of the cliffs are sometimes built right into the caves
Heart 2 Comment 0
Gardens of the Brantôme Abbey, with the Renaissance Pavilion on the left and the Tour Saint-Roche in the center
Heart 1 Comment 0
Médici Fountain, with bust of Pierre de Bourdeills, known as Brantôme
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking across the Dronne at the Brantôme Abbey and gardens. The village of Brantôme is on the right and the Garden of the Monks is on the left
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 583 miles (938 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Scott AndersonWhat a lovely town Brantôme is! With its canals it reminds me a bit of Colmar. We hope to be in this region next fall and will have to be sure to add it to the list.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago