Day 5: Rest day in Nevada City - Silver and Gold 2021 - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2021

Day 5: Rest day in Nevada City

Today is a much-needed rest day in Nevada City which is a great place to spend a rest day. Nevada City is arguably the most successful Gold Rush town in California, both then and now.

I slept too late to eat breakfast, so I had a big lunch instead. Today is overcast and the temperature is much cooler, in the 60's.

Lunch on the patio with live music. The sandwich is pulled pork and red cabbage. The beverage is extremely weak tea.
Heart 0 Comment 0

This truly was a rest day. I didn't spend a lot of time or effort exploring the town. Fortunately most of the interesting stuff is nearby. I didn't put a huge effort into taking pictures, but the town is so photogenic that I got some good photos.

The art deco Nevada County courthouse reminds me of the courthouse in another mining town, Bisbee.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Commercial Street pedestrian plaza.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Broad Street, Nevada City.
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the right is the 1865 Nevada Theatre, California's oldest existing theater building.
Heart 0 Comment 0
New York Hotel is a full block deep, fronts on both Broad and Commercial streets.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The 1856 National Hotel was fully booked when I made reservations.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Broad Street, Nevada City.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old fire station. I wonder if it still has a pole inside.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nevada City.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nevada City has many excellent Victorian homes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Many houses have rose bushes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My inn is in a neighborhood of Victorian homes.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I took an afternoon nap, then walked back to town for a curry dinner on the patio of a Thai restaurant. Very light rain for a few minutes, the only rain of the tour. It was chilly while sitting still on the patio, but refreshing to smell rain for a few minutes.

I felt exhausted most of the day and only started to feel decent after dinner. I really needed the rest day after yesterday's huge climbs.

Tonight (Saturday) every lodging place in town is displaying No Vacancy. I'm glad I have advance reservations.

I pedaled zero miles today but walked a few miles. High of 69F/21C, much cooler than yesterday. Tomorrow will be slightly warmer.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0