In Foix: In recovery, Day 2 - Bilbao to Sete - CycleBlaze

October 6, 2017

In Foix: In recovery, Day 2

I awoke this morning still feeling weak but definitely improved, and have continued to improve all day. I'm extending my diet - eating more, and taking in a bit more variety. Best of all, there's evidence that I'm starting to get more nutritional benefit from it. I'm probably the lightest I've ever been as an adult but it looks like I've bottomed out.

I'm getting a bit of energy back too, and went out with Rachael several times to explore Foix. Rachael went out on her own in the morning to find breakfast for herself while I stayed in the room and nursed a banana. After that though we took a short walk through the old city; had lunch at a sidewalk cafe (I restricted myself to a plate of pasta with mushrooms); went back to the room to rest; then another walk, and another rest; and finally, out again for an evening meal. All pretty easy, slow walks; but they probably added up to about two miles.

I've also really gotten an appetite back, and am very hungry. I'm taking it slowly for the next several days but am sure looking forward to the day when I can have a normal meal, with wine or coffee.

I'm feeling improved enough that we're ready to plan next steps. After tomorrow, we're taking the train to Carcassonne for two nights. We've booked our room and bought our train tickets, so we're going. After that, I'm hoping we can bike the rest of the tour, but if not there are still options with the train.

I really love this country: a great train network, socialized medicine, sensible gun policy, a sane leader. I can really understand the urge to just stay.

Some pictures from the day:

Hotel Lons, our convalescent home for three nights
Heart 1 Comment 0
If we'd thought to look for it, we might have stayed here instead. It's a new establishment in town run by Americans that arrived this spring. Bike friendly too, from the outward appearances.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Peter, a Welshman who lives in Foix part of the year, called us out for a lengthy chat. He's well spoken and thoughtful and has political sentiments similar to ours. We found plenty to talk about.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Thinking the same thing we are - let's find lunch!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Foix is peppered with beautiful old half timbered houses.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Foix is dominated by its unique three turreted chateau. It's a backdrop for many of the city's streets and open spaces, and looks different from every angle.
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Foix
Heart 0 Comment 0
The public market occurs here on Friday mornings, just beside the Church of Saint Volusien. It's market day, but I missed it (but Rachael saw it when she went over to fetch me some bananas this morning) because we spent so long in conversation with our new Welsh friend Peter.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside the Church of Saint Volusien
Heart 0 Comment 0
Two of eight caryotids lightning the wall opposite the church. All eight are without their arms. I wonder if there is a story to that?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another angle on the chateau
Heart 0 Comment 0
Skin and bones. Pretty scary, really.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0