In Foix: A medical emergency - Bilbao to Sete - CycleBlaze

October 4, 2017

In Foix: A medical emergency

I felt horrible when we arrived at our hotel in Ax-les Thermes last night, and worse when I awoke this morning. I've basically had only a coke, water, and part of a banana since yesterday's lunch stop. Biking is out of the question, even though by the easiest route it's only 26 miles to Foix, mostly downhill. It was a great relief to discover that the train network extends this far up the valley and takes bicycles. I had just enough strength to coast a half mile downhill to the train station. We arrived only 20 minutes before the next train departs.

Why can't we do more of this in America?
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the train from Ax-les-Thermes to Foix. It's a huge relief to have this option, but it's saddening to look at the gorgeous Ariege countryside whiz by.
Heart 0 Comment 0

While on the train we decided that I needed to check myself into a hospital, so when we arrived in Foix we left our bikes and luggage at the terminal and caught a taxi to the regional hospital, about fifteen minutes away. When we checked in at the main entrance, we were redirected to the Urgent Care unit. They took me in immediately, with no other information than my passport. My initial screening was conducted by four nurses, with about as much skill in English as I have in French. They then directed me to a waiting area, where I sat for about five minutes and eventually just lay on the floor until they called my name about five minutes later.

As weak as I've ever felt, I believe
Heart 0 Comment 0

Within a few minutes of admission they had taken my vital signs and some blood tests and administered an intravenous drip. Soon afterwards the attending physician appeared, and fortunately he spoke enough English so we could communicate about my condition. First though, he wanted to validate my age - he asked it, and then they showed my my DOB on my wrist band and asked if it was correct. He finally said simply 'You seem younger', which was some comfort anyway. I don't feel at all young today.

I lay there for roughly two hours before they brought Rachael in for a consultation. We were told I had a serious infection, my white blood cell count was dangerously low, and they believed I had salmonella although more tests were needed. We were instructed to stay near the hospital for at least the next three days, and to return to the hospital if I was not significantly improved by then.

After some discussion, Rachael and I agreed that it would be best if she went back to Foix alone - we weren't even sure at this point if I'd be released today. Among other things, there's no internet service in the hospital and we have some lodging to acquire and others to cancel. She caught a taxi back to the train depot, picked up her bike and baggage, and checked into our B&B (which unfortunately has no vacancy for the additional days we need). Also she ran some errands, including filling the prescription for antibiotics the hospital had given her.

Finally, four plus hours later, I was released, caught my own taxi to our lodging, asked the host for a Coca Cola, and then crashed for the night.

Every time something like this happens abroad (once in Canada, once in Italy, and now here), I am shocked anew by their medical system in contrast to our own. Admitted to urgent care, attended within fifteen minutes, in treatment for seven hours. No charge.

In hospital. Incredible that they attended me for seven hours, no charge. Why can't we do this in America?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kelly IniguezInteresting I was just asking you about travel medical insurance. The Great Divide rider I was talking about was in Canada. I'm sure? Maybe I'm not sure . . . Seven broken ribs and $38,000. later . .
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Kelly IniguezLooking back, I see that the post isn’t quite accurate. The hospital stay wasn’t free - just nearly so. They sent me a bill the next month for €50, which I paid through their website.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago