Birds of the Camargue: A photo gallery - Bilbao to Sete - CycleBlaze

October 17, 2017

Birds of the Camargue: A photo gallery

I didn't take many bird photos on this tour. Other than an occasional heron or kite or eagle soaring above, we didn't encounter many that were easy to photograph until we reached Langueduc; and by then I realized a packing error - I forgot the charger for my super zoom camera, and it's battery is almost dead. I've been carrying around a spare rock for the last month.

There were a few that carelessly came close enough to give me a decent shot. And, of course, there were the flamingos. This page was first conceived as an excuse to include more flamingo pictures. Also, a reminder: the Camargue is one of the best bird habitats in Europe. When we return some year, I want to make some time to come out here alone for some bird watching, when I won't hold up Rachael.

In Aigues-Mortes, on the Rhone-Sete Canal. A Eurasian teal?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A mute swan, I think.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The little egret. I love the black legs and yellow feet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Little egret
Heart 1 Comment 0
Little egret
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coots - ubiquitous birds, like crows. Is there any temperate region that doesn't find them in the right habitat?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A black headed gull, Saintes-Maries. Not a very black head here, but this is their look in the non-breeding season. They seem a lot like the Bonaparte's gull that we find back home.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 1,521 miles (2,448 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0